Tea Time Snack – Zen & Co

in #steempress6 years ago

It was a typical Tuesday and I had the day off again. I made sure to utilise it to the very best of my abilities and slept till past noon. Gosh, did it feel good! My lunch was actually my breakfast gone cold so I barely touched it as it tasted pretty bad. The day quickly turned into evening and my stomach eventually started growling louder and louder. I decided to harass my significant other (SO) to go on a tea time date with me. My SO inevitably obliged.
We could not decide where to go so we went circling around areas nearby my home, one of which was Menjalara where a huge variety of food can be found. Fortunately, we came across a cool looking new café with painted black and white called Zen & Co. Parking in that area was fairly easy to find considering it was still only evening.
As we stepped into the café, we noticed it was the typical everyday café that you can find complete with wooden style tables and sofa chairs. The shape of the sofa was pretty odd and low which made it pretty uncomfortable. Nevertheless, it was jam packed causing the service to be pretty slow. We did not order much as it was almost dinner time. I liked how they had a special matcha series page in their menu, my favourite!
The matcha lava cake priced at RM16 caught my eye first. The waitress was thoughtful enough to caution us that it will take about 20 minutes for the lava cake to be ready, which I thought was standard wait time.


To my utter disappointment, the lava cake was so tiny it was probably a portion fit for a baby. The ice cream tasted like cheap vanilla and the strawberry was very sour. Luckily the lava cake was still so-so. Definitely not worth the price.
We waited for very long time, but our RM8 matcha latte did not arrive. My SO was annoyed and went to the counter to check. They told my SO that it was already being prepared, but my SO cancelled it anyway. As we were getting ready to leave, they surprised us with a complimentary matcha latte courtesy of their supervisor.



We were upset and disappointed, but I have to say that I was pretty impressed by the service at that point. The latte art was a standard beautiful heart shape. Unfortunately, the matcha latte tasted worse than the lava cake. It was far too bitter and the milk taste in the latte totally overshadowed the matcha. Overall, this café is a flat 3/10 for me. It would probably been a 1/10 if it were not for the complimentary drink.
In case you still want to give it a chance:
Address: 53, Jalan 3/62A Bandar Menjalara

Opening hours:

Monday - Friday:
11:30am - 10:00pm
Saturday - Sunday:
10:00am - 10:00pm

Phone: +60 3 6261 9337

Posted from my blog with SteemPress

Sort:  

Your post has been manually curated by elizacheng 💖

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66149.24
ETH 3015.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73