Platforms built on top of the Steem Blockchain

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

Since last month, I have been inviting some of my close friends to try Steemit. While all of them are immediately sold to the idea of earning some $$$ by just posting even the most random of things, most of them gave up after a week or two.

I ask some of them the reason why and as to my surprise, it's not really all about the payouts (either my measly $0.1 vote worth actually is something or they are lying lol). But it was all because they are somewhat intimidated by the platform and honestly don't know what's going on in here.

I honestly can relate to them as that is also what I felt when I first stumbled upon this platform. If you look closely at the "Trending" and "Hot" section, most of the time it's about Crypto-this and Crypto-that or another Steem Drama or another bid-bot calling again for delegations. If you are a gamer, a singer, an artist/illustrator or even a food or travel blogger and the things you always saw are posts about Crypto that you know nothing about, won't you also feel intimidated?

Probably my mistake was introducing them to Steemit.com first. If you invite a YouTuber to try Steemit.com, chances are he/she will lose interest after some time because it's not the platform he/she was used to (plus Steemit lacks so many things atm). It would have been better if I invited them over to Dtube first then introduce them to other platforms after. Right?

Which brings me to write this post. What are some of the platforms that are built on top of the Steem Blockchain.

 


Image Source

Platforms built on top of the Steem Blockchain

PlatformUrlShort DescriptionBeneficiary Rewards
Busyhttps://busy.orgBlockchain-based social network where anyone can earn rewards0%
dBookshttps://dbooks.orgA platform that allows users to publish their posts in a book format20%
DecentMemeshttps://decentmemes.comA meme creating site that lets you share memes to Steemit and upvote created memes15%
dLikehttps://dlike.ioThe design of dlike is based on popular social media platform - Pinterest15%
dLivehttps://dlive.ioThe first decentralized live streaming and video sharing community on the Steem blockchain0%
dManiahttps://dmania.loldMania is basically 9GAG on Steem. You can post memes, funny pictures, gifs or your favorite cute kitten pictures.25%
dSoundhttps://dsound.audioDecentralized sound platform using STEEM and IPFS25%
dTubehttps://d.tubeDube is a website that stores movies based on STEEM and IPFS. Its task is to provide a similar experience to Youtube at the same being the safe and resistant to censorship alternative25%
eSteemhttps://esteem.wsFirst mobile and desktop application for Steem!10%
Musinghttps://musing.ioA questions and answer platform where you earn by answering questions0%
Steemhunthttps://steemhunt.comDaily ranking of effortlessly cool products fueled by STEEM blockchain5%
Steemithttps://steemit.comSteemit is a blogging and social networking website. First interface build on top of Steem blockchain0%
SteemPeakhttps://steempeak.comSteemPeak is a frontend for the Steem blockchain that tries to combine all the awesome features already available on other websites with some unique ideas and new tools0%
SteemPress.iowordpress.org/plugins/ steempressA plugin that closes the gap between Steem and WordPress15%
SteepShothttps://steepshot.ioSteepshot (ex. SteemStagram), a platform that rewards people for sharing their lifestyle and visual experience15%
Utopian.iohttps://utopian.ioRewarding Open Source Contributors with Steem25%
Zapplhttps://zappl.comDecentralized Micro-Blogging15%

Most if not all Beneficiary Reward Numbers above are taken from their introductory post. If there are some errors or they've change it recently, kindly tell me so I can fix it.


Image Source

 

What is Beneficiary Rewards?

Beneficiary Rewards also called as Reward Splitting allows authors to distribute parts of the author reward share to other accounts. If a post posted via SteepShot (The Instagram of Steem) have a total payout of $100, Steepshot will take 15% out of that $100 which is $15. The remaining $85 will then be split to author and curators in a 75/25 ratio.

Why knowing the different platforms on Steem is important?

Not all of us here loves to write stuffs. Some prefer doing vlogs over blogs, while some prefer live streaming some of their games while some wants to do quick photography posts like how you do in Instagram. Knowing what platforms suits you and are comfortable in is important. Plus you also have a chance of getting upvoted by those platforms if your contents are of quality.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://jlordc.vornix.blog/2018/07/10/platforms-built-on-top-of-the-steem-blockchain/
Sort:  
Hi @jlordc,

Yah! You just got jet-voted. Can't wait for your next contribution. #Jet-mod payouts.

unnamed (2).gif


Communication
You are more than welcome to chat with us on our discord server, we'll be glad to hear you.
https://discord.gg/4eKGXXY
On the wings of superstars, we are words and steem

I didn't know there were so many actually. Didn't know about dbooks or musing. Gonna check them out

I agree. It can be rather intimidating for someone to be introduced to steemit from the start. Especially for those who have not blogged before. Perhaps, starting with projects like SteemHunt or Musing might be a better idea. Haha..

For some reason I kind of dislike "musing". I have someone whom I have set to auto-vote and he tried Musing yesterday and all of his answers becomes blog posts. Lol

Lol.. I actually started using Musing today. It's very much like Quora and unlike many other platforms, users can actually choose not to create a post from their answers. I personally provided a few answers and posted none of them as new posts :p

Posted using Partiko Android

On second thought I think I might give musing a try.

Most of my rants are just answers to questions on what's happening on steem anyway. Lol

Lol.. yea, give it a shot. I like how they do it such that you do not have to create new posts for each answer. And I think the Musing account will upvote your answers right now and the upvote is quite substantial. I got a 0.86 worth of votes for my first answer.

Posted using Partiko Android

You should have started with that lol

Off I go to musing then (probably tomorrow) hope the votes are still there lol

I asked a question on "what is your favorite project built on Steem and why?"

Maybe u can start by answering that. Haha..

Posted using Partiko Android

My answer will be a long blog post tomorrow lol

Wow, very great article! Now I understand that there's a lot of things this platform can do. Amazing! Thanks for inviting me to join @jlordc :D

I hope you will have a great time here on Steem del :)

I think one of the most important thing before signing up for a steem account is knowledge about crypto, because what we are earning here is not the fiat money that we all are familiar with but crypto. But no need for in depth knowledge I guess, just a bit of an idea should suffice. However, the bottom line is that before signing up, we should believe in the potential of the platform and crypto as a whole, because if not we are just here for short term income opportunity which when go unfullfilled (which is the common case) would turn off newcomers. Whereas, if one have faith in the platform, then even if the first few months is an uphill battle, an individual can endure because he/ she has a bigger picture at sight.

btw I am unfamiliar with most of them so thanks for sharing. Pardon the long comment lol.

No problem! I love long comments honestly :)

And yep I somewhat agree that everyone should have at least "basic" knowledge about crypto especially BTC since almost every alt coin revolves around that one. In most cases, it also serves as a bridge in converting alts to fiat money.

As to "faith on the platform", yep couldn't agree more lol
It's also important just to have fun doing things you normally would do on other sites (but getting paid here for doing that)

Yes that is actually it. Instead of posting your thoughts somewhere else why not post it here and earn in the process. The audience may be smaller but at least most people here are sensible (the bots are kind too lol) and know respect. Unlike on some media platforms where expressing ones opinion may get you thrashed for not conforming with other people's point.

The bots are kind too

LOL this one made me laugh.

well they are, aren't they? i love seeing steemitboard on my posts, just keep cheetah away from me and I am set haha

I think I saw you on the top leaderboards lol Good Luck btw.

Funniest thing I have seen bots did here on steem was: warning a bot who was warning another bot who was also being warned by another bot on one user that have been blacklisted by cheetah. Lol

With 4 games left I am actually hoping for a miracle now, but thanks hehe.

The bots are going to takeover humanity anytime now haha

Really interesting discussion about these other platforms. I tried busy but stopped. My friend who introduced me to steemit said if i post through busy, i get some upvotes from them. I've tried 5 times and nothing. I began to believe i should rather stick to steemit.
But how does musing work? @jlordc

Yep that is true. In order to get votes from busy, an account must have sufficient followers_mvest (your followers must have a total of 20000SP[last time I checked]

Anyway, I wrote an article about this one months ago: How to Get an Upvote from the Busy bots (@busy.org & @busy.pay)

Really, i never knew. Well thanks, i check out your post.

Didn't know about Musing, but I saw you talk with another Steemian about it last time in the group chat.. hihihi ^^ I hope you could invite more friends.. Para mas bibo.. haha ^^

There are only two who is still active: @dexteriousity and @adelair (look athe comment above) lol
Both are from Bohol! Neighboursssss! Ha ha ha

I checked them out!!! Ka mga talented oiii! ^^ Maka-proud nga neighbors... :)

Of course! Mga talented baya mga Bisaya ha ha mga gwapo/gwapa pa jud :)

i didn't know about musing, it sounds interesting ( i'll have that and steempress to check them out thoroughly this or the next week. Aside from everything i think each individual should need to do his research first, to check the pros and cons and then make his/her decision. There is no need to rush but i can understand it. Image if you find out steemit by luck and the first thing you check is the trending and hot page with payouts of over 200$ from a single post. Money Money Money is everything that person will think of and sign up. Then the reality will hit him/her

Truth be told I was lured in by a not-so-funny-single meme with almost a $100+ payout. Back then I didn't know much about bots so I thought "What's up with this site? I'd probably earn a lot of money here since I can clearly do a better meme unlike this one" Lol

I highly recommend steempress if you are not using any bots (which I think you don't) and is being trailed by some curator groups like curie, ocd and steemstem. Their upvotes are quite something if you have those trails :)

I was looking for these 3rd party beneficial information. Thanks for the updates.

Well done @jlordc! You successfully guessed the match result.

Semi Finals - France vs Belgium
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
Do you want to know your current ranking? Read this post

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Croatia vs England


Do you like the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest?
Vote for @steemitboard as a witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63071.06
ETH 3121.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84