Behind the song - Your Dreams

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)


Today I'm telling the background story for the last song "Your Dreams" from my new EP "Acoustic Dreams" that's available in my store now and from the 15 of July on all major services


You can already today do me a great favor by pre-saving it on Spotify and in that way you will automatically get it in your library on the day of release and at the same time help me get attention for it.


You can also join me on Tuesday 16th of July for the "Online Release Party 2.0", just check out the Facebook Event.

"Your Dreams" was originally written as a indie rock/punk/folk rock song and the absolute first version was actually in Swedish under the name "Dina Drömmar". When I recorded the Psalms For Sinners EP I really wanted to do a re-recording of it with the lyrics in English and personally I think it's the best song from that EP and was also the most popular one until "Visa från Utanmyra" really exploded.

Listen on Spotify

Since I record most instruments myself and I don't really have a band to back me up when I'm playing live I have been forced to re-arrange all my songs to fit to a setting with only acoustic guitar and my voice. And when I finally learned "Travis picking" when I learned how to play "The Boxer" by Simon & Garfunkel I also had a perfect arrangement for an acoustic version of Your Dreams.

I played this version on some live gigs during 2017 and when I decided to record an acoustic EP "Your Dreams" had it's obvious spot finalizing the EP and also to give the EP half of it's name.

Besides the finger picked guitar I added some nice strings, counterpoint guitar and even a trumpet that me and my co-producer Tobi had our only disagreement about, but it the end he had to step back and the trumpet got to stay.

So there's the last behind the song story for this time, but stay tuned since I'm going to keep giving you an insight to my life as a musician and a lot of fun stuff, both here in my blog and on all my social media.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.jonmagnusson.se/2018/07/11/behind-the-song-your-dreams/

Sort:  

Congratulations @jonmagnusson! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Croatia vs England


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87