how to be kind (to yourself)

in #steempress4 years ago


First, why be kind to yourself even?

Out of all the things you can be (rich, famous, cool 😎), why be kind? And why be kind to yourself?

The simple answer is: because you can.

And the more complicated answer?

Because you should.


The world is such a big place, yet at times, I find myself stuck in my own mind, replaying all the mistakes I made. The paths I missed. The things I don't have yet. What I am not yet (or won't ever be). The people who hurt me. The words they said. What I cannot change (but wish I could). The things that are bad about me. What I'm not good at yet.

You've been here before too, probably.

It's an easy trap to fall into. If you don't stop it, you will build a prison for yourself with your mind, locking you in a dark place, never allowing you to grow out of it.

The solution is to do the opposite: instead of dwelling on your mistakes, what you're not good at, what you don't have, the words that hurt you, the people that disappointed you... you can be kind to yourself.

Let go of what you can't change.

Let go of people who don't want to stay in your life.

Let go of the criticism you received.

Let go of hurt.

It's okay if you don't have what you have wanted all your life.

It's okay to be number two, number ten, or, last.

It's okay if you don't have money.

It's okay if you aren't in a job you love.

You are okay exactly how you are.

Accept what you can't change.

See the good in yourself every day.

Don't bring your mistakes from today to tomorrow.


Be kind to yourself, because you can. And you should.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://luweetang.com/kind/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.70
ETH 2948.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66