I feel like an idiot...

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)

So I've spent countless hours researching different coins to invest in recently. Coins that offer Proof of Stake and Masternodes have really taken my interest. And I've found some great coins to invest in amongst the utter crap that you'll find in the vast sea of coins out there.

I had some basic criteria as to what the coin must provide in order for me to be interested in investing in it. And if these boxes were ticked I'd continue my research into the coin before investing.

  • Relatively stable price;
  • Listed on a decent number of exchanges in addition to some good exchanges;
  • Good team behind the coin;
  • A good community supporting the coin;
  • A solid purpose for the coin i.e. what problem does it solve?
  • Ability to offer a reliable and passive income stream.
The thing is, Steem ticks all of these boxes and then some. I've always known this, but I hadn't really considered that what I was searching for all this time was essentially another Steem.


Image courtesy of @gamani who probably stole it from somewhere else


Price


We all know that the crypto market is in full bear mode right now. So while Steem has been on a southward trend, so has the whole market. And when we get that occasional green day, Steem is one of the coins that typically shows a decent recovery.


Exchanges


Steem is listed on all the exchanges that I need access to - Binance, Bittrex, and numerous others. This makes it easy for me to convert my Steem and SBD to other currencies or Fiat.

To date, I haven't converted my Steem and SBD to Fiat but I have converted a portion to other currencies such as BTC, EOS and IOTA. My goal is to have a Steem funded and nicely diverse portfolio of crypto, but with Steem as my greatest holding. And I'm making some decent progress here, hence my research into other coins lately.


The Team


You'll always get people banging on about how little Steemit Inc do and the mistakes they make, but at the end of the day I see that they are continually working on the blockchain and I've even been fortunate enough to speak with some of the Steemit Inc team members.

I have a lot of confidence in the Steemit Inc team and the potential of the Steem Blockchain. So I'm happy here.


Search pixabay.com for "smart people" and this is what you get


Purpose


If you don't know the purpose of the Steem blockchain and currency then perhaps you should do a little reading. There is huge potential for the Steem blockchain and currency, just look at how insanely massive @steemmonsters has gotten... I never saw that coming.


A Passive Income Stream


And this is probably the thing that has me most excited and the one thing that made me realise how stupid my search was for a passive income stream in the crypto market.

The more Steem Power I hold, the greater my passive income stream becomes. So why the hell would I send my Steem off to the exchanges when I can simply generate that passive income right here?

There are so many options for a passive income stream on Steemit. You just have to know where to look.


If only it were that easy


Delegating to the bid bots


This is often one of the first methods that people think of when looking for a smart use of their Steem Power. And it could be a great option for you. You can earn anywhere between 15% to 30% return via delegating to these bots. But, personally, this is not what I want to do.

I understand the purpose and benefits of a bid bot, but I don't want to give them access to my Steem Power. I'd much rather use other strategies to generate my passive income.



Lease your Steem Power


Leasing your Steem Power makes sense to me. There are a few ways you can do this. The one that I am most familiar with is via Minnowbooster however you can also lease your Steem Power via Smartsteem. Once you have created your account with Minnowbooster you can look through the available Steem Power leases available, and if you choose to, you can lease out your Steem Power to another Steemit user. The period of time of leases can vary, as with the anticipated earnings.


Sell your vote


This is something that I have done for a long time. And I currently do it via Minnowbooster. Smartsteem also offer this service, and I've very recently started testing them out. For both Minnowbooster and Smartsteem, if you sell your vote you earn 85% of the profit in addition to your usual curation rewards.

From my experience, and a common recommendation by both services, is that you really should only sell a small percentage of your vote. I only sell up to 25% of my voting power. This allows me to still upvote the content posted by the people who I follow and upvote comments on my posts. I have sold 100% of my voting power in the past, at a time when I needed to earn some quick SBD, but it takes way too long for your voting power to recover to make it worthwhile.

The biggest benefit of selling my vote is that if I cannot log on to Steemit for a period of time, I know that my voting power is being used and I am earning a small passive income from my Steem Power. It's a brilliant service, and one that I will continue to use for a long time.


Delegate to an App, Service or Community

Some apps, services and communities will reward those who delegate to them. Not all of these are passive income streams but the rewards can be great.

For example, the @minnowsupport project will give you upvotes on your content if you delegate to them. And the @stsl project offers the same type of reward. And if you delegate to @dtube you receive a passive income in the form of delegator rewards.


Courtesy of @minnowsupport


Summary


This is far from a comprehensive write up as to what you can do with your Steem Power in order to start generating a passive income stream.

I like to control my Steem Power as much as possible so I don't delegate anything personally (other than a short term delegation to @cyclefeed), I only sell 25% of my voting power. And I also like my vote to mean something to the people who interact with my content and the people who I follow. If I delegated most of my Steem Power my vote would return to 1 cent again which wouldn't be much fun for anyone concerned.

But the point is, regardless of how I choose to utilise my Steem Power, I am able to earn a passive income stream by making smart use of it. And that passive income is quite likely higher than what most other currencies out there are offering.

And earning this passive income much simpler too. I don't have to set up a masternode. I don't have to set up a mining rig in my house. And I don't have to run the risk of sending my coins to an unknown wallet to be part of a shared masternode service as well.

So make smart use of your available Steem Power. Grow it as effectively and quickly as you can. It will only benefit you in the long term.


How are you currently using your Steem Power? Tell me about it in the comments.


 


Images courtesy of pixabay.com unless otherwise stated. Some links above may contain referral links.





Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://cryptonbrews.xopus.io/2018/08/07/i-feel-like-an-idiot/

Sort:  

Same conclusion here mate! But i didn´t take long to undestand that...In fact i understood it too soon :P For my momentanium loss XD

The price will recover. :)

momentanium loss

??

Momatarium? Momantarium? Momotomo?

still can't decipher..

minor addition :

you can delegate to @actifit and earn SMT tokens passively...while supporting a good project.

They’re good projects but I’d rather just earn Steem at this stage.

Thank you, and @actifit does pay you weekly delegator rewards in Steem as well, a small pay as it is a distributed 5% beneficiary reward of all actifit posts, split among all delegators, yet coupled with large AFIT token early bird amounts.

@mcfarhat
Actifit Founder

Hahaha, whoops. I probably should have read the comments before I wrote mine.

There is also apps like @steemhunt and @actifit that will pay you in a secondary token (HUNT tokens or FIT tokens). It remains to be seen whether these tokens will have any value... but they totally might and both these projects have had a huge amount of backing so far.

Both great projects. You’re right that we don’t know the value of the tokens yet. Time will tell. :)

Hi! I'm agree for 100% with your theses in article. In my case at first time I delegated my SP to minnowbooster, and now I'm selling my vote with Smartsteem.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great work mate. :)

Right in front of you all that time.

Sure was. :)

Very comprehensive, I agree with your analysis. It also took me a long time to come to the same conclusion lol.

It seems the vacation season here coupled with the slow summer and low point of crypto in general is making for not too much SBD to consider investing anywhere substantial at this point. I am just keeping with the posts every day if I am around and just working on reaching more followers, doing more networking with the active and dynamic folks here, and slowly banking and sitting on SP.

I suppose I will eventually reach a point where I should consider delegating, renting, leasing and such and love posts like these as food for thought.

Thanks!

I’ve come across some really interesting buying opportunities while the market is suppressed.

It’s always a good idea to keep with the posting frequency during times like these though. You’ll be glad you did when the market picks up again. :)

Do you worry that by selling your vote, you can be inadvertently supporting crap posts that just shouldn't be rewarded? Plagiarised and spammy content and the like?

I do. It’s always a worry. And partly why I only sell a limited percentage. But at the same time, my vote is only worth around 8 - 10 cents so the level of support isn’t huge.

The thing is, the return I get for selling my vote can be excellent. And I use that return to upvote my own content from time to time. And by doing that I get an even greater return.

The reward far outweighs the negatives at this stage. If/ when my vote goes above $1 I’ll definitely need to change my strategy.

That makes pretty good sense at this point. My vote currently wouldn't be worth anything given it's below the dust threshold. I'm hoping you use @dustsweeper so you can actually get some value from it here.

These are great tips, unfortunately I am still stuck on 1c and I went through a rough patch where I wasn't able to be on steem as often and it has hurt my long term goal of reaching 500sp.

Currently I just nominate to the curation trail for TA. That way I know TA members are still being upvoted and earning but I don't believe I get curation out of that.

I might have to look into selling upvotes once my acct grows a little.

You'll see curation rewards for any voting activity that you do, so the TA autovotes count. :)

It's a great time to buy and power up..

Screenshot_20180808-142900_Chrome.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94