You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Having Children in Troubled Times: Should We Have Them At All?

I'm just writing up something on this myself. I did start putting in my concerns on the over population issue we often hear so much about, but as others have already said in the comments and as you've touched upon yourself, it's not so much over population as over consumption that is the biggest issue. At our level of consumption, the earth cannot sustain us, but those that often advocate depopulation don't seem to want to reduce their own consumption. That's another topic again, though. I'll leave you with this intesting graph from an article I might link to in my post.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

This is an awesome graph and says it perfectly! Damn, I keep wanting to edit my post, but love the way you added value with this amazing visual. That's what I love about these questions - it's such a conversation rather than a heap of us being authoritative! This is SO true - it really is the arrogance of privilege to advocate for small families or low birth rates as we're busy using up all the resources that poorer, and larger, families don't consume! Thanks for commetning, off to see your post now!

I haven't finished mine yet. Needs some polish.

Often the conversations on these sorts of posts can be just as interesting as the post which sparks them. You can be about to say something, then read a comment which adds another perspective.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63582.29
ETH 3267.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93