Say Hello to My New Blog

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

After so long I finally decided to get myself a proper blog yay.

Speaking of blogs, I used to make one. But eventually as what happened to my novel project mentioned in the About page, I ran out of ideas to write and eventually that blog got abandoned (Lesson to self: Do not set a main discussion theme in a blog). In case you're curious, it's just a blog about computer tips and tricks but it wasn't authored under Misty.EXE. Well the blog is dead now so have fun finding it.


Image Source: Neil Patel's "6 Lessons to Learn From the World’s Most Popular Blogs"

So back in mid-2018, I was being invited to Steemit by Lilacse, one of the moderators in the Tower of Saviors Discord server since he knows I can write walls and walls of text (Fact: He somehow revived my old passion on blogging stuff haha). And boom, I started to write stuff on there.

Then I found out that you can make yourself a WordPress site through a third party hosting provider named Vornix. By paying just 10 Steem (which is approximately $4.50), you can build a fully functional WordPress site from the Vornix subdomain services. But unfortunately the Vornix subdomain services was announced to be shut down on June so yeah, can't get it before I even manage to gather the money. :pain:

If Plan A failed, then go for Plan B. Yes that was me a week or two after discussing with Lilacse about WordPress hosting services, I started to hunt for one. And yes, a free domain could be nice since we still as students can't really afford the hosting as well as the domain fees. I honestly don't mind a third party subdomain as long as the address to the site isn't going to be too long. Hmm try imagine me getting a site address like mistythebot.averylooooooongsubdomain.com, even you don't like that right?

I was a temporary admin of my school's website back then (Fact: My school's site runs on WordPress too), which makes using the stuff at the Dashboard pretty easy since I spent some time back then to rearrange the messy (and not to mention dead) website where I need to update those obsolete school info, removing non-functional Flash widgets and so on. Simple said it's just a quick makeover + site content update since I was in charge on updating the school activities done by the student council.

If compared with Blogger and WordPress, WordPress has more flexibility than Blogger to me. Perhaps it's because of the file system and all the stuff (FTP and all the plugins that Blogger doesn't have) that make customization much easier to me

Fun fact: Despite that, Waze, which uses Blogger as their blogging platform instead of WordPress back then (they use Medium now), was able to make their website organised and flawless.

Ah not to mention, I took about 2 weeks to set up and customize 'em all (including finding themes, setting icons and buttons, colour schemes, oh and Steempress as well). And now there you go. Welcome to my blog where I'm going to post all my stuff hereafter!

If you're from Steemit, do come over and drop by. I'll be happy to see visitors around! ;)

Painful fact: Procrastinated this post for about 3 days due to unable to think up of what to write :pain:

Guess that's all for my "opening speech" for now. I'll do more random TED talks in here. So stay tuned and see you next time! :D

- Misty.EXE -

Do consider giving my Facebook page a like, or a follow on Instagram, or maybe a follow on Steemit if you're from there! ;)



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://mistythebot.rf.gd/2019/helloworld/
Sort:  

Your post has been manually curated by littlenewthings

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Congratulations @mistyexe! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61113.33
ETH 2927.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69