You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Guardians Of Immortality & Transience

in #steempress5 years ago

Excellent commentary on the state of the world today, juxtaposed with the state of the world then. World domination threatens us now a quest for homogeneity and order that can never be achieved, should never be achieved in my opinion.
I LOVE the video of the ignitions! the artist as insignificant is a tantalizing thought. We are all insignificant, smoke that blows away, no matter the energy we put into our material things. Some of our rulers must learn this lesson before they take thousands of people and horses with them into the afterlife, in far less honorable ways that the emperors did.
I came to this post via #pypt
Great work. Thanks for putting it together.

Sort:  

At first, I didn't quite understand Cai's work. Murmuration was stunning, but the visual art pieces I couldn't
't quite put together. Then, at the end of the exhibit, they had video installations showing how he made them.

It wasn't until reflecting on the whole exhibit afterwards that it all came together. Thus this story. I'm so used to having a meaning created in the moment when I go see art exhibits, that I wasn't sure what was happening. I think I was going in excited about the ancient artefacts, so I'd built a whole different frame of expectations going in.

his art is ethereal. maybe he is trying to dispel those frames of reference. the juxtaposition of both exhibits was brilliant. For both, process was tantamount to results. He said a few things that were striking in the video, but something about his feelings just before he lit them impressed me. I'll have to go back to watch it again to find it. I remember I had my pen in my hand to write whatever astonishing thing he had said down, but he went right into another astonishing thing and the first was gone, as ephemeral as his art.
I don't understand something though - you did not see anything ignite, just what the fires left? He seemed to think his art piece was what happened after he lit them, as if that was the importance of all that work, the smoke, the puff, soon gone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63521.22
ETH 3319.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91