You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Words That Challenge Systems of Inhumanity: 'No Friend But The Mountains'

in #steempress5 years ago

What an incredibly thoughtful comment. It's funny that you mention the gulag as many referred to these detention camps as like them. I haven't read the gulag Archipelago but I read a day in the life of Ivan Ivanovich which is one of my favourite books of all time and I recommend it to my students.

One of the problems were these detention centres is that they had contractors in as security so the possibility of brutality was not as well monitored as it should have been. They also had women and children in these camps, some of which were born in captivity and had spent their lives there in terrible conditions. How on earth our government could criticize any other regimes I do not know.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Oh @riverflows! That is so heart wrenching for those poor kids as well as all the others!

The Gulag Archipelago after being totally banned and the author having to go into exile for fear of imprisonment for writing it, is now a mandatory part of the school curriculum. How ironic is that.
I am reading the abridged version for the other is in 3 volumes. It is a real eye opener for me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66938.08
ETH 3100.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74