POTSDAM - GUIDE TO 17-PALACE-WONDERLAND NEAR BERLIN

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)


Potsdam is a town located near Berlin with more than 1000 years old history. It was a residence of the Prussian kings but still is home for 17 majestic palaces and many baroque style buildings. Stepping into Potsdam feels like stepping into a wonderland. There are spacious parks and unrealistic buildings. Ohh, Potsdam is that perfect escape from busy Berlin and daily routine what you was looking for!

Before writing this post I was looking for the main information about Potsdam, what other people are saying, what to do and see, but, you know, I was quite surprised – I didn’t found what I expected. Yes, there are a lot of articles about palaces and biggest parks, a lot of information about history, but I couldn’t catch that special wonderland atmosphere. Almost everywhere I found the same information and the same photos, but actually Potsdam is so impressive and varied. So many blogs are talking about museums and entry prices, while there are so many things to do and see for free!

I challenged myself to write the best Potsdam guide what I can! I wanna show you that magical atmosphere through best information and photos from a wonderland! So let’s go!

No Worries! 

Sanssouci Park is the largest park in Potsdam. From french (sans souci) means ‘'no worries’'. Sanssouci Park takes about 300 hectares from the center of the city. It’s amazingly large, isn’t it? Going through it takes so long time, that you will definitely forget about all your worries, haha. But if seriously, I would say, that Sanssouci Park needs to be your priority when visiting Potsdam. It’s a beautiful park with 5 amazing palaces (Sanssouci Palace, New Palace, New Chambers Palace, Orangery palace, Charlottenhof Palace), many interesting buildings (like Chinese House, Temple of Friendship, Dragon House and other), fountains and nature all around you. It’s the best place ever where to take a walk.

My advice for a day with ‘'no worries’' is to start your walk in Sanssouci Park from the New Palace. Your walk will take minimum 30 minutes through park (if you will go just straight) and about 1 till 2 hours with exploring and enjoying palaces, buildings and fountains. After that you will definitely feel some hunger and then there comes the second part.

Make a wish! 

If you took my advice and started your walk from the New Palace then at the end of the Sanssouci Park you will reach Luisenplatz with the Brandenburg Gate and Brandenburger street. And if you didn’t know, Potsdam is the capital of the German federal state called Brandenburg. So don’t forget to make a wish standing in Brandenburg near Brandeburg Gate at Brandeburger street. Funny, isn’t it?

The Brandenburg Gate is very beautiful place that actually leads you in the center of town - Brandenburger street. Ahh, no one is talking about this street, but I liked it so much! It’s full of smaller and bigger shops, restaurants, caffees and everything what you want (and believe me, after walking through Sanssouci Park you will dream about food). Uniqueness of Brandenburger street lies in both ends of the street - in one you can see the Brandenburg Gate, but in other – Peter and Paul church. It’s giving a special feeling while walking through street and taking a meal on some romantic terrace.

Touch the heart of Potsdam! 

And what would be a journey without touching the heart of Potsdam? The Old Market Square is the historical center and heart of the town. In this place everything has began! Now, surrounded by buildings like The City Palace, St. Nicholas Church and The Old Town Hall, this place makes you feel like returning in time. When I was in The Old Market Square I was just standing in the middle and staring at this beauty. Potsdam is only 30 minute-drive from Berlin but feels like a whole new world. Try it! I am shure, you will like it!

  Summary  

Yeah, yeah, I believe that someone will say now: ‘'But I didn’t saw all those 17 palaces!’'. Of course, you can do that, but then you will need to stay at least one night in Potsdam, I guess. There are also more parks and buildings, fountains and gates as I said, but I choosed to show you the best part of Potsdam. And believe me, no one wants to remember Potsdam with a rush, right?! I have been in Potsdam many times, always spending there one whole day and it’s totally enough for me. Why? Because I always leave something unseen for my next return in Potsdam.

There are two more good news for you - after this amazing day you will have at least 10km and more than 100 memories in your account! Good job, my friend!

[wp_show_posts id="327"]

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://mysmalltravelguide.com/potsdam-guide-to-17-palace-wonderland-near-berlin/
Sort:  

Congratulations @sandraans! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.
You made more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Now I will see Germany :)

Haha, that's true🙈😊 Catch photo from Germany's spring😍

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62981.24
ETH 3034.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75