Is MLM (Multi level Marketing) Legit?

in #steempress6 years ago (edited)


last week I was approached by a few people to join them in a job named Multi-Level Marketing for the famous company they were representing for. Without giving time to a second thought I said a big 'NO'. But they were not the ones who would leave me alone. They talked for next 3 hours and in the end, made me say a big 'OK'. I had no other options with me to end the conversation.

My refusal was because I had heard about such get-rich-quick schemes before as well. In my village, there are hundreds of people who got cheated by such ponzy schemes not too long ago. Anything which has a monetary gain associated with it is more than enough to attract the flocks into it. People working in this realm were taking advantage of the illiterate majority living in my place. Native people lacked the actual understanding of this concept and ended up losing their money and time.

These horrible stories had curbed my brain from learning more about multi level markrting. I always thought that MLM is a fraud thing and is the best way to loot others hard earned money! It was only on yesterday that I gave some attention to study the actuality of these things. I went through innumerous contents on internet. Read a lot of quora ansewers, watched lot of youtube videos and consulted successful people associated to this field. My conclusion is that Multi level Marketing is not a ponsy scheme as I thought before. Infact, it is a proven business model that still is in use in many countries including developed ones.

MLM?


Multi Level marketing is entirely different from most of the marketing startegies that we know today. In this type of marketing, large part of profit is distributed among customers. Cost needed to advertise the product and middlemen are cut here. Consumers are the distributors and they get a reasonable earnings for proliferating the products of the company they are working for.

There were no good regulations existed in india on this type of marketing. Initially, governments had even discouraged Multi Level Marketing saying these are fakes. But recently government layed a red carpet and recognised those who work in this field as workers. I'm still in the learning curve though I know MLM is a genuine thing. Anyway, MLM is a legit thing in India and in many countries as well.

Will be sharing more about this on my upcomig blogs.

What are your opinions?

Image Source- Pixabay

Contents are original and written by me,

@sathyasankar



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://sathya-sankar.com/is-mlm-multi-level-marketing-legit/
Sort:  

The worse the product the more marketing effort it takes to sell it. Multi-level marketing is for products that are halfway decent at best. Does toilet paper or grain get multi-level marketed? Computers? It's always some kind of potion or lotion that is purported to have extraordinary properties. Or it could be decent but overpriced stuff like Tupperware.

I thought like that. But the company which approached me is selling that all. They have a shopping website too. This is the link-
http://www.smartshoppi.com/

The best way I deal with MLM guys - I say ok in the beginning and listen carefully to what they blabber. Then point out loop holes and say NO at the end. Lost a lot in multiple MLM stuff. This is not for those who cannot lie.

But still there are people who make a lot of money from this. It is the company we choose that matters I guess. MLM is a big business in many developed countries. I even saw a video where Donald Trump asking people to join this business!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sathyasankar from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86