My ArtVenture: Pastel painting: „Chryses“

in #steempress5 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians


 



 

*

First of all I wanted to tell everyone and all our Artists community, please keep doing what you enjoy the most despite of all the disputes around Art and how to create an Art.

We: @stef1, @myskye and our project @art-venture will support the works that we like and nobody can influence it. We live in free world and nobody can make us to think differently and command what we should like and what not. We follow our heart, our emotions and common sense​. :-)

 

*


 

Despite of being on my shifts over weekend I still use my free time to continue developing my skills. I always was fascinated by those Artists who could make a drawing of sculptures, because the difficulty is they are predominantly monotone and three dimentional and the skills of Artist to reflect it in their drawings or paintings. I have never tried it before therefore, for this weekend I made my aim to try to do a portrait of sculpture.

 



„Chryses“ by @Stef1

 

I have chosen a sculpture done by famous French sculptor Rene-Michel Stoldtz, his work “Chryses”, I like the emotions that was reflected, the face features, hair and beard. It is not just copy the work but every single line needs to be studied and every value of tones needs to be considered. I decided to use different colors but stayed within the strength of value. I started with drawing with graphite pencil. The colors are done using different pastel pencils and pastel sticks.

I hope you like my work and also enjoy the process like my. I have finished it today at 6 pm, as always I sign and date it. It is visible in right lower corner.

 



 

My process steps:


 


 


 


 


 


 


 

Final painting:


 


 
Pastel painting „Chryses“ by @Stef1

Sketch block A4 format, soft pastel sticks and pencils

 


 
Photo source

 


*





 







 
*

 
I hope you enjoyed my post and thank you for viewing :-)

 

Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://artventure.club/my-artventure-pastel-painting-chryses
Sort:  

This post was chosen to be voted by THEUNION in collaboration with STEEMPRESS.
theunion.png

Thank you @theunion for support :)

What a great painting, Steffi! His expression is really strong, a mix between horror and surprise.

We: @stef1, @myskye and our project @art-venture will support the works that we like and nobody can influence it. We live in free world and nobody can make us to think differently and command what we should like and what not. We follow our heart, our emotions and common sense​. :-)

And that's the way it should be. Lobbyists, you know where the door is! 😁

Thank you for your attention and absolutely agree with your opinion :)

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Thank you @artzone for support :)

Looks great Stef! :)

Thank you Ian, it is nice to hear your opinion :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you @c-squared for support and your attention :)

Отличная работа!

Congratulations @stef1! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 11000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 12000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

For a first try to work from a sculpture, this turned out pretty well.
I would suggest if you have the opportunity to go to a museum and see if you can sketch there. This is the classical approach, and considering that in "modern" art education it is not followed anymore, going this route on your own is commendable.
In 2013 I went with some students of the Visionary Art Academy in Vienna for a drawing session at the Kunsthistorische Museum - see this album on Flickr
The advantage of drawing from a sculpture: they don't get tired, and they don't move, haha
Since you picked your model off Pinterest, you find some great stuff under the hashtag #details

Thank you Otto, it is really nice to hear the opinion of such an Artist like you. I really enjoyed viewing the pictures from drawing session in Art Museum. That is absolutely brilliant idea, I probably will try too, only I need to go to nearest one that might be Edinburgh. You are lucky living in Vienna you have plenty of opportunities to visit cultural places and a lot of object to draw or paint.

Also that was really nice that you attached the link to the details of Sculptures, I love it very much, it took me while to find mine one but now there are so many different I definitely will try :)

I am glad my comment was useful to you. Drawing from a photo is OK, but best is live drawing, because then you choose the angle and perspective.

Hello @stef1, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93