East Side Gallery Berlin

in #steempress5 years ago

Dear Steemians,

I want to introduce you to the pictures I've taken during my trip to Berlin (March 2019). I came on this idea because next weekend I'm going to Cologne, Köln. I hope to receive some advice about the city Cologne by writing this post! Let me know in the comments! Now, let's start this post!


East Side Gallery Berlin









East West Side gallery is the longest piece left of the Berliner Mauer. For those who need a reminder of the Berliner Mauer: it was a barrier that divided Berlin (East side and West side) from 1961 to 1989.


I went to Berlin with my University. One of my teachers lived in Berlin during the Cold War. He told us that he lived on the East side and had to go in the army. On the day of the fall of the Berliner Mauer, he and his friends didn’t know what was going to happen. They were still afraid. When they went across that wall, they got overloaded with bunches of flowers. Tons of people were sending love. It was the happiest moment of his life. This story warmed my heart up. At the same time, it’s just so weird that I still know people who have experienced the Cold War, it’s just not so long ago.


-- Picture taken nearby the East Side Gallery


Holocaust Monument



Beautiful monument to commemorate the persecution of the Jews during World War II.


Brandenburger Tor


I hope that you liked the pictures that I've taken with my Canon EOS M100 camera. Berlin is definitely a city that you have to visit when you're interested in the history of the Cold War and World War II.


Advice for Köln?
I'm looking forward to visit Cologne next weekend and can't wait to receive some advice from you guys. If anyone knows a good restaurant, I certainly want to know! 


Veertje
Sort:  

Congratulations @veertje! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61587.45
ETH 2890.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43