You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEMPUNK-NET -- Update No. 13 -- Win 50 Steem : Art Contest still running -- Dicebot implemented -- Housing running(English/German)

in #steempunknet6 years ago

Wait.... We've got a dice roll bot now ?

... Who's up for one of those roleplaying turn/post based survival games that were/are popular on forums ? XD

Bravo on the progress !

Sort:  

Hmmm, that's -- almost tempting. Though PbP is an annoying format to try and work around. (And most of my attempts at such a design have been diceless.)

I've only ever been a player in those kinds of games, bu I've seen enough of them fail or end catastrophically because the wrong person didn't choose an action in the alloted time to know the format's pretty hard to get working.

another format I love (though MUCH more complex. so complex I've never attempted to join. they make excellent reading thoug) is SbS on Dwarf Fortress.

They pass the fortress around after each season, and it becomes a glorious blaze of horror and glory before long XD

I've seen a lot of gameplay which leverages handing around Kerbal Space Program saves like that, too. You can get up to all sorts of mad shenanigans that way.

I was thinking about some of my old, shit-canned designs, and it might be reasonable to break out one of the "resource allocation" games which I was tinkering around with as a way to play by post with people who don't necessarily have the ability to respond in a synchronous manner. The key mechanic was to recognize that each player only has so many Tokens to invest in the reality of a given statement, and at the end of every post/response they need to summarize all of the statements which they have Tokens invested in along with any changes they made during that post.

I think it could work and it wouldn't require people to be completely synchronous. It might do well with some sort of out-of-forum record-keeping on a wiki or something, but that's true of a lot of things. I wonder if I could refine the design down to the point where only the "end piece metadata" was necessary.

Well, it's a thought.

I don't know if you've ever seen Storium, but it's something you should probably look at. It doesn't provide the kind of gameplay I really want, but it at least expresses a framework for online gameplay connected to forum-style interfaces which is functional, and I think anybody interested in online, asynchronous/play-by-post role-playing games should probably have some experience of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71141.42
ETH 3848.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48