SteemQuest : Goblins in the cellar (part 3) [New Players Always welcome see end of post]

in #steemquest6 years ago (edited)

With one goblin left standing Quaid rounds the corner and puts three arrows into its chest.
‘All clear Thunk’ he calls out to his comrades.

As the party surveys the dead goblins they banter back and forth about who got more kills.

Here is the current board:


Click on the map for a bigger version

Here is the current rules: (they are cleaned up a little, I am still adding things)
https://www.dropbox.com/s/lulvd1r9su7ams9/SteemQuest%20Core%20Rules.pages?dl=0

Here is the link to the character cards: (I will be updating exp totals soon)
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/o8gy3spsla83axq/AABvVE_OHWVvwrrKZgC7ywXda?dl=0

[New Players]
SteemQuest is an ongoing and growing RPG world here on Steem. New players are always welcome. Players can come and go as they desire, just let us know when you are leaving (say you are taking an IRL 2 week vacation) we will make sure your character is somewhere safe until you return (or Thunk may just cover you with leaves on the side of the road)

If you are New and want to join just reply to any active post with a character. I will create you a character card and add you in. For the Character Creation rules see this post:

https://steemit.com/tabletop-rpg/@simplegame/steemquest-sign-up-day-1-character-creation

Sort:  

Quaid goes over to the goblin he shot to recover his arrows and searches the body. "Hey, barkeep! What's going on down here?"

Thunk moves over to the Dwarf and punches him on the shoulder “THUNK”. (It’s a thing guys. Get used to it. Thunk seems to have a habit of playfully THUNK-ing an ally for every kill).

Turning to Quaid, “Eww... now you’ve got green slime dripping from your quiver”. SMH. “You know you really didn’t need to hit the darn thing so many times. But I like the effort”. Another playful “THUNK” on Quaid’s shoulder.

I turn to the elf in red. ‘So you’re the one throwing fire? Careful doing that in close quarters. Next time I may make you buy me new leather. But...I kinda like the smell of the singe...this time’. “Hey! Don’t you dare waste that ale on the flames”.

I then pick up a dead goblin by the feet and beat out the flames. I look over at Zarvagos and say ‘See anything in there’?

Old man says “Thank you for your help. I have to pray to the shrine twice a day or a portal opens.”
He points to what appears to be a hole or doorway in the north wall of the shrine room.
‘My help died in a quest last week and with all the heavy drinking lately I lost track of time.”

He shakes his head and mutters under his breath “at least it was only goblins”

"Isn't there some way to destroy this thing? What if you die of a heart attack tomorrow what happens then? Non-stop portal monsters?"

Rubbing his beard .... “i’m Not sure, I was just instructed by our Lord to chant everyday.
I was taught the proper words by the High Priest of the Church”
After looking off to the distance for a minute, his eyes light up.
‘You have a friend in the Tavern upstairs, he can stay and work with me. I mean you do have to pay me for the damage caused by the 🔥 “

"Um... what friend is that? I literally came to this tavern for the first time like 3 minutes ago."

‘Hmm... all you new people look a like to me”

You mean that guy, what was his name? Lori...loral... the guy in the white robes. He doesn’t seem too excited about fighting. I’m thinking he’s kinda shy or sumthin. I raise my sword high and say “ I volunteer him to work”

OOC: He’s having internet issues. It may be best that he stays put for a bit until he gets it worked out

You find a single copper coin on the goblin

"Guys, look! This goblin has money! Ummm.... so how does this work, do we throw all the money we collect into a big pile and split it up later or do we just keep what we get from monsters that we kill? um... I'm very new at this..."

You give it to me. Since I’m the biggest and strongest I will take on the burden of carrying all coins. I hold out my hand.

"Oh, that is very generous of you... Thunk, is it?" (hands over copper coin). So is anyone hurt? My mother was a healer... No? Well, that's good." Quaid will start searching the rest of the bodies and loudly announce anything he finds.

Make a D6 using the rollthedice bot for your search of the bodies

Shake shake shake, you roll the 6-sided die.

You rolled a 4.

Thunk wanders over to the old man. “How long have you been chanting to this hole in the wall? You said you were thankful it was only goblins. What else has come through? Have you ever gone through the hole? Have you got any more ale down here? I tend to work up a thirst after a good thunking.

I THUNK the old guy on the back and he nearly falls over.

As he stumbles forward ..”the ale is the kegs in the other room. If you help me haul them upstairs, your table can have a keg at it... on me.”

He is deflecting from your 1st questions about the shrine. We can do a personality roll to try for more answers or wait until you help him restock than try it.

Turning on the charm... @rolld20

Shake shake shake, you roll the 20-sided die.

You rolled a 15.

Yes!

Me and the Dwarf can handle 2 each. How many do you want hauled up? And... tell me about that hole while I’m heftin’.

OI FIRE ELF - IS THAT A PUZZLE?!? IT IS! THIS IS GREAT! Hahaha.

Aye, this takes me back to the puzzles of me youth. I'll have this solved in a jiffy Fire Elf!

You grab the box. Blow the dust off and quickly open it to revel a key etched in runes.

Awww a key? Me ol DaddyDwarf used to hide his finest whisky in puzzles like this... man I got good.

OI! YOU LOT!!
Can anyone read these runes? Are they in Elfish or Humanish or OldBarkeepish or somethin'?

OOC: they look humanish... unfortunately Thunk is your human not sure how much reading Thunk does

Let me see that. Hmmm. Yep, looks like... like... umm... (Thunk bites it). Not sure why, but I’ve seen others do that. Tastes like... a metal key.

Two thumbs up. I hand it back to the Dwarf

Thunk! Thunk!!! Stop that. We'll get ya some meat upstairs.

BARKEEP! Can you read these runes? Does this key mean anything to you? What about you Quaid? You're a human arentcha? Or a troll? I can't tell the difference between you lot. I know Thunk is a human cos he said so, and the others have pointy ears so they're the pointy-earred git ones... Elves.

Yes, I am human. Quaid will take a look at the runes.

The words appear to be the same as the ones the old man was chanting

The words appear to
Be the same as the ones the
Old man was chanting

                 - simplegame


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

I wasn’t gonna eat the dang thing. I was just... testing it. So... what kinda meat? Got some spuds and gravy to go with it? Let’s go eat. I’ll grab the kegs. Man, am I hungry. Hey barkeep. What’s for dessert? I haven’t had a good sweet-cake in forever. Food... (continues blabberin’ about food)

I search the room for water to put out the fires. Beer would work too, so if all else fails, use a keg of beer to douse the fires. Look around for anything unusual and talk to the barkeep once he finishes his chanting.

Roll a D6 for your search

@rollthedice for my search. Not sure what I need so please do tell.

Shake shake shake, you roll the 6-sided die.

You rolled a 5.

Still working out the search rules. But 5 is very nice.
While searching the shrine you notice a loose board in the back. After a little effort you manage to pry it loose.
You find a dust covered wooden box.
You try to open it but it is some sort of puzzle box.

OOC: lockpick skill can work on puzzles

As the noise of battle stops, you notice part of the shrine is glowing.

Zargavos will approach to inspect the shrine, careful not to touch it or do anything that might activate a spell.

"Why the devil is this down here?"

OOC: Is that an open doorway to the north?

You notice that the glow from the shrine starts to fade away, as the voice of the old man’s chanting fades away.

Yes. It looks like a break in the wall.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86