You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cryptocurrencies, Blockchain and Value

I can agree with the stance @hobo.media takes about some 'intrinsic value' to be derived from the survival utility of a substance or condition.

I might go a step further to say that other things can have a sort of 'extrinsic value' insomuch that they can be exchanged for things of intrinsic value. While I cannot eat a Bitcoin, I could exchange it for a lot of pizzas and so realize it's value in this sense.

I could also put it another way. Value is a measure of how much one wants something. Things of intrinsic value necessarily generate a basic level of want. Biology demands water for it's processes and so we want to drink. This want-value I think is a bit more general and can be applied to things like speculative assets and luxury items as well as utility items like computers or necessities like nutrition.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65860.84
ETH 3017.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70