SteemSearch New Year update - Save Search Parameters

Hey everyone, and a happy new year to you all!

Hope you had a great festive season and are ready for whatever 2018 is going to bring. For me, it's hopefully going to bring Steemsearch to the forefront of tools that can be used on the Steem blockchain, but I cant do it without your support, so thank you all!

In other personal news, I am now a proud member of the Curie curation team so I'm always on the search for good posts that are worthy of the Curie upvote.

I've been doing quite a bit over the last week or so and even though the changes don't seem too much, quite a lot of work has gone into them, especially the saving of searches. Search saving is good as then you can reduce the number of tags in your search parameters which is the main cause of slowdown in retrieving results from SteemSQL (and I've noticed it seems to have been a bit slower of late for some reason - I might revisit my queries to see if I can improve the JSON metadata parsing)

As you can see in the image below, there is now a user toolbar at the top of the screen where i'm going to be putting some user preferences. Everything here is stored in your local browser cache, so if you clear that you will lose your saved searches etc.

Screen Shot 2018-01-02 at 18.29.02.png

So first up is the save searches functionality....

Screen Shot 2018-01-02 at 18.28.11.png

Enter your search in the usual parameter boxes on the left hand side and then click the save icon; you wll get a prompt like this

Screen Shot 2018-01-02 at 18.35.27.png

Enter a name for the search and it will then appear in the dropdown list

Select a search and it will update the search parameters in the left pane. Click the delete button to delete a saved search..

Screen Shot 2018-01-02 at 18.36.33.png

I haven't quite got the dropdown auto-selecting newly created searches yet - might need a bit of a refactor for that.

The other parameter that I have added is the option to exclude posts that have been upvoted by a certain user. This is good for excluding cheetah upvoted posts for instance. I'll hopefully get this so that you can enter more than one user soon.

Screen Shot 2018-01-02 at 18.27.54.png

Later this week I will have a fun announcement regarding some new branding on Steemsearch so keep your eyes open for that one.

You can find steemsearch at http://www.steemsearch.com and you can chat with me about it on steemit chat (user mark.angel.trueman and the room is #steemsearch)

If you like using Steemsearch and want to help support it, all I ask is for your upvote and re-steem.Curation is at the heart of Steemit and I truly believe that this tool is a great enabler for curation teams and the continued growth of the platform.

Thanks for all your support

Mark

Sort:  

Great post
Thank you for sharing

Steemit keeps getting better! Thank you for your role in this.

The "save search" feature was one of the last things keeping me from using steemsearch.com for my own curation (instead of just using SQL query directly as I have been doing). I think this update adds a lot of functionality for serious curators - now you can create custom searches for different kinds of posting, a saved "Art" search, a saved "Music" search, etc. You my friend are a true Steem hero. Happy to resteem and welcome to the Curie ranks!

Much love - Carl

Thanks!!. I think the main driver for the search saving was cos having too many tags in the search does slow it down dramatically. This allows you to use say up to 5 tags per search to increase the speed. Im looking into how to improve that but theres a lot of json parsing going on which slows stuff down.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Check The Daily spotlights of 2 January 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68