You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ADSactly Contest - SteemShort #3 - Post 3: Request for Last Part of the Story

in #steemshorts6 years ago

“Adanma, please talk to Mama. You know that I will always be there for you regardless of your decision, but I want what is best for you too. Do you understand, my dear?” Mama begged. I could see the worries in her eyes and I regretted the pain I had caused her.

“Mama, I hate him. I hate Joe.” I cried. Mama embraced me and tried to calm my anger.

“I know he’s not the best husband, but he does have a point Adanma. Prophet Moses is not the right man for you despite your hostility towards Joe and his resentment towards you. His anger might be due to his confusion about your pregnancy, though he has no rights since he left you. He’s confused and angry at the same time. When these two powerful emotions come together, the consequence will only be more explosive. He might have questions as to why you’re pregnant now and not before when you were both together. To be honest, the same question has crossed my mind, dear. I thought, through past medical exams, it would be near impossible for you to get pregnant and yet, you told us of a miracle today,” Mama reasoned, and I could hear the excitement in her voice.

“Mama, you know we have tried very hard to have children but we haven’t been blessed before now,” I provided. I suspected that my past infertility might be the reason for Joe’s departure.

“What? Are you saying that the baby is your husband, Joe’s? How is that possible?” Mama asked in bewilderment.

“The doctor had said it was close to impossible, but not completely impossible. I guess God’s blessing always comes at a time when you least suspect it, and at a time when you need it the most. I began to have an inkling of my pregnant state when we reached the mountains. As for Prophet Moses, he is just a friend. He understands my vulnerability and respects my love for Joe. He’s like a sounding board for me because he has had similar experience in the past. But Mama, I have just discovered that Joe does not deserve my love. He did not give me a chance to explain myself. He started to insinuate the minute he walked into the house. He didn’t look like he cared about me. This baby is my savior, Mama. With him or her at my side, I can go on happily with my life and provide for us both. As for love, time will tell. Time will test our love. I will tell Joe when the time is right, but not right away. I need to get back on my feet first. If our relationship is meant to be, it will happen again, Mama,” I explained to Mama. “I place my trust in God,” I added.

“Oh, my baby, you have matured and are beginning to think responsibly. Remember, I will always be with you. As I see it, Joe still cares for you but he is a man after all. Men never want to lose face. As you have said, time will tell. I will be the best grandmama to this precious little bundle, love. It’s time to celebrate and leave the worries for tomorrow,” Mama exclaimed. She was thrilled at the prospect and extremely happy for me.

Finally, I can see my life starting to bloom again. I’m living not only for myself, but my precious baby as well. Life has a new beginning at every turn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68745.77
ETH 3744.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76