Official Barter Unit

365720A9-AA85-4DC4-AF2A-B00DF0306E91.jpeg

A little while back I found one of these while looking for something good to trade @goldkey. Well i sent it out to him since I thought it was fitting at the time. Lucky for me when I went to the lcs the other day he had a few more. This one was in the best condition so I snagged it.

511FE37B-8F6A-4DBD-9BC6-C9C5F0D3D050.jpeg

I think tyne design is cool but I really like the idea of bartering. Especially since bartering with silver is damn near as old as mankind. I haven't tried to go to the website yet, I wonder if it still works? Or did it go out with the dot Com bubble?

Let me know if you try.
😎 www.y2ksilvercompany.com ☠️

BFEB3C46-1D1A-4825-B967-08B36C063904.png

Sort:  

That's a big negative. No longer there....but I did find some really cool history while looking for it. Check out these numbers from the The Coin Dealer Quarterly I Newsletter.

January 8, 1999
SPOT PRICES AT QUARTERLY PRESS TIME:

Silver $5.00 Gold $287.30

If you do a cntrl+f for y2k it will take you to some more info on the company here. https://archive.org/stream/coindealerquarte1999coin/coindealerquarte1999coin_djvu.txt

🤣

I knew someone wouldn't be able to resist. Thanks for the info bro!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Bartering still exists, but it's mostly a thing of the Past... I like having a Physical Tool to measure Value, but I can't see anything stopping the activation of a U.S. Crypto-Currency... I'm sure it will play an important part in the Removal of all Federal Reserve Notes... I like Silver a lot, and it is a Store of Value, but I can't see it ever being used again as an every day Circulating Tool, to Measure Value...

It is an interesting round and the design is not very cluttered.

Congratulations @armshippie! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Aye, In Poseidon's name, another millennium coin! Yea got a keen eye for coins.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94