How do you like your Silver - Rippled or Mirrored - What do you like more?

It is a simple question...Rippled or Mirror finish?

006.1.JPG

Mirror 1.1.JPG

Hi, I am Backyard Bullion and I love making things out of silver. Silver is an amazing material to work with, especially when it is 999 pure. When you pour that silver you just don't know what is going to come out - I have spoken about this before in another thread and this is one of the reasons I love hand poured silver. But the question I ask today is do you prefer Ripples or a Mirrored finish?

I work with my hands on the silver to create mirror finishes. I think it is really important to do this rather than with a machine. You get a better, smoother and more natural finish rather than having square cut lines that a machine would make. Of course it is bloody hard on the hands and I have been known to moan about blisters on my fingers many a time!

_DSC0082.JPG

But the results speak for themselves! I love the mirror finish pieces and I love that people love them. It plays havoc with the skin on my fingers but the time and energy is worth it when someone buys one and gives me some feedback....

Personally, I love the Ripples. As much as I love the look of the mirrored pieces I just think that the ripples mesmerise me constantly. As I said earlier no two pieces are ever the same. They have subtle differences and can be big, small, pronounced, smooth and subtle. Or they can just hit you in the face with the wow factor. They are diverse and awesome - that is why I love them.

238.1.JPG

I would love to hear what you think and what you like - nothing like a little bit of market research!

Thank you for reading this far if you did and please make sure to upvote, comment and share!

Sort:  

I like either, really, but the pour lines are cool and make it look more "authentic" and old. Nice stuff BTW.

They are my trademark it seems - I am known for ripples! Thanks for the comment and feedback!

I like your ripple bars and rounds. I know the mirror is a lot more work and shines more but the ripples are all different and never turn out the same.

Great to hear from you my friend, thanks for sharing your thoughts! I am glad you are one for the ripples, they are my favourite too!

When looking through your offerings, the ripples are really what caught my attention.

I appreciate the feedback my friend - very helpful indeed!

I like both.... The back with sweet hand poured lines and the front with that great mirror finish.

HA - now that is a great idea for a dual bar in the future! Thanks for stopping by!

How do you verify the pour is a complete 1ozt when your doing all the grinding and polishing? Thanks

I often pour freehand rather than exact weights. So this is often not an issue. I also stamp all the weights on the pieces after the sanding and polishing is done, that way we know it is the weight we say it is.

As I have one of you rippled ones I'd have to say rippled... but any silver is beautiful.

Thanks for the feedback! I love the ripples so much, but you nailed it right there by saying that silver is beautiful!

I'm a lover of the ripple! Not to say I don't appreciate the work that goes in to a mirror bar, but the natural lines of cooling silver does it for me.

Thanks for the feedback mate - I love the ripples too so glad to hear you are firmly planted in the same group!

I like them both for different reasons. The ripples effect is unique and interesting. Every piece is one of a kind and slightly different. But the ferret in me just loves a shiny piece of metal lol...

Thanks for the feedback my friend - I love the ripples too and the fact they are all different is magic to me! Appreciate you stopping by!

No worries man I'm a silversmith myself (fabricator) so I'll be stalking your posts lol. The first shot reminds me of makume gane it's so beautiful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62