How I lost my Crypto Currency Virginity

About 2 months ago I made a video for my YouTube channel about crypto currencies.

Bitcoin.jpg

It was around the time when Bitcoin was surging upwards and in the space of 2 weeks had climbed from $9000 to $19,000.

I was sceptical about it - and I remain so today about the potential for investment returns. But let's face facts, cryptos in some form are here to stay and will be for a long time. The question is which crypto currencies will be here in a year, 5 years and 10 years time.

I was so sceptical that the few times I had been asked by people if they could pay in Bitcoin for some hand poured silver I always replied, No. In fact it was more like, hell no.

I guess the major problem, for me at least, was ignorance of how everything worked and also fear stories about being able to get your cash out at the other end. For me as a small business cashflow is everything. I need the cash from every sale so that I can re-invest it into the business. Therefore the idea of taking payment in a crypto currency and not being able to spend that money was worrying.

It was the cool, calm and collected discussions with @welshsilverstacker that gave me the nudge to get on board.

In fact, one specific thing he said to me really hit home and it was this that made me think, maybe it is worth giving it a go. I asked him, "Why would you not just cash out yourself and then bank transfer me the cash?". Welshsilverstacker's answer was surprisingly simple, "When you go to the supermarket and buy your groceries you don't go to a cash point first and withdraw the exact amount you need for the weekly shop, you just pay by debit or credit card!". This got me thinking and by god he was right.

As a seller and small business owner it was all of a sudden apparent that I was missing out on a potential revenue stream and payment method that a lot of people have at the moment. And one that a lot of people are using to buy physical assets at the moment as well.

So I set up a Coinbase account and went through the week long process of getting my bank account verified and I did a few test runs. Welshsilverstacker sent me his first payment so I could get to grips with how it worked. It was really very simple indeed. I subsequently cashed out his payment and hey presto - it was done!

Overall I have to say I am still sceptical about investing in Crypto Currencies. They are just too volatile for me at the moment. I have had £25 in an Ethereum account for the last 2 weeks, it has gone as low as £18 and as high as £27. That is a huge swing and I just cannot see myself putting large sums or cash into these types of accounts.

However, my attitude has shifted considerably in the last few weeks. The fact I am willing to accept payment in cryptos is something I thought I would never do a few months ago.

To that end, if anyone would like some hand poured silver and would like to pay in Bitcoin, Ethereum or Litecoin then please get in touch!

Thanks for reading and don't forget to upvote, comment and share!

Sort:  

I surprised myself when I came out with that gem of a quote.... Glad you're taking cryptos now. Hopefully a few of the #steemsilvergold boys will take advantage of this and hit you up for a few orders.

It was a cool quote - it really got me to appreciate what is the function of a crypto currency!

Glad to hear you're on board. I quite like the look of your pours. Once I'm into some profit once again, I'll give you a shout.

Sounds good to me my friend, thanks for stopping by!

I resisted as long as i could on cryto's. The future is here i don't want to be left behind. Glad too see you're now accepting cryto currency. Hopefully it will bring you more orders.

Well this is the plan. It just seemed like the logical step to take to be honest. Thanks for stopping by!

Steemit bar? @backyardbuillion

And welshstacker is a good man, had a few decent convos's with him.

If there are enough people what want to do a steemit bar - and they are happy to pre-order (so I don't get lumped with a bunch of stock!) I would gladly make a steemit bar!

Leave it with me buddy. We have a Steemit silver round coming soon so would maybe even be around summer time. When are you planning to do thesilverforum bar's this year?

We can make this happen. Ok, so it's a long time off but good to know you would be up for it.

Thanks

How big you thinking 1.5/2 oz? Anything bigger than that and it's too rich for my blood

God knows! Probably 1oz bars. Not sure I am big enough on steemit to organise the community together to do it. But if we were to make it we could get the steemit logo made as a stamp and stamp that onto a 1oz bar maybe. It would look very good as a stamp I think.

Throw out a price and see who bites. You must know ball park figures for stamps. I think a steemit #steemsilvergold bar hallmarked might be great for some of the bigger stackers. That would definitely be a collectors item

Yeah, 1 oz would be best. You have to remember the yanks are not used to paying vat prices like us Brit's. 1oz year group ann bar? What you think?

How about me and you just run with it and get @backyardbullion to make us some bars once its all in place...? Hahaha

Cool! @backyardbullion,
I got your email, and you will be hearing from me again soon!

I'm happy so many people are starting to accept crypto payments now.

Thanks my friend - I look forward to hearing back from you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62780.02
ETH 2945.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62