Will the disease take hold....

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

rawpixel-658262-unsplash.jpg

Unsplash

After so many months of lurking around and enviously looking at everyone showing off their new shinies in the #steemsilvergold tag, I've finally pulled the trigger on the first little step in my collection. I had my eyes on a particular coin for a while, but it seemed to have been a limited run from quite a few years ago, and so the retail store that I had signed up with (Goldsilver.be which was suggested to me by @kouloumos in the Discord) didn't have it in stock. I did find it on Europeanmint.com at a relatively higher price than I was expecting. Adding in the shipping made it more than I would pay for the single coin.

So, the question was whether to start with the single coin or splash out and go all in with a mini stack... Sorry to disappoint the hard-core, but the need to fix a gutter and various house expenses meant that I had to stick with the single coin. @thekittygirl had posted about buying coins on ebay, and so I decided to check that out to see if there was a reputable seller on ebay with the coin that I wanted!

I did find one, and again the price is a touch higher than I would like, but the shipping was free and worldwide. So, I did it... Now it will be a nervous wait for a couple of weeks for the shipping to get here (hopefully less)! I'm super excited for the beginning of the collection... but it has got me thinking, perhaps in the future I should be finding at least 2 of each coin... one for collecting and passing down to the next generation, and the other for investing and selling... but I have two kids... so maybe at least three of each...

SHIT, is this how it begins?


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman

SB_new.png


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Welcome amigo! Sounds like you got it bad...

3D62B4C2-19D5-4504-8D70-08A60C7DC15C.jpeg

Ha ha, Yes it begins! I even started a up a little wish list of the coins I might be interested in later. I'm originally from Perth, so the next time I'm there, I'm definitely scheduling a visit to the Mint. I had no idea that it was so well respected!

I spent New Years 89-90 in Perth — awsome place, but i never made it to Perth Mint...

I was a great little town that was so isolated from the rest o the world. Later in the 2000's when the mining boom hit, the fast and easy money really changed the character of the place. Lots of boutique places and gaudy flashy shops... I miss the old place!

I have quite a collection of coins but 99.9% are coins in circulation. (Or they were, at the time.)

I have coins from Portugal to China, from the US to Kenya. I never though about their value. I collected them for fun.

I remember doing this and stamps when I was a kid, more stamps than coins. These days, stamps are big out of favour and it just isn't the same collecting timestamps of emails...

But this precious metals and rare coin collecting look really interesting!

How exciting! So happy for you, and I hope you will share in a post when it arrives! 😁

Definitely! Although, I'll be happier when the ebay status changes to shipped!

Congrats on taking the plunge! It's a big step, and one that will likely take your currency at increasing rates in the future. However, I think they're a great way to preserve your wealth, especially the low-premium ones. That's just my opinion though.

Yes, the lower price pure silver are the ones that caught my eye as the most affordable entry... I did see on it the really expensive metal ones starting around 2000 for a 1oz coin.. I think I'll leave that for later..

$2,000 for a silver coin seems a bit steep if it doesn't have a lot of gold in it. Then again, some of the numismatic coins are probably worth a lot. I think a lot of people just stick with bullion coins when starting out.

Ha, it wasn't silver! It was a palladium coin... Way out of my reach!

That makes a little more sense. Palladium is $1,075 right now, so maybe it was a 2 ounce coin? Or maybe there's just a really big markup on those.

No, my mistake! It was Rhodium? I've never heard of that in a coin...

That's another expensive one. And it's not as common even as palladium or platinum. The Rhodium I've seen has been in bars. Good for someone to make coins though!

We all have out addictions and they all cost money!
At least your could have a good ROI in the future. Better than sportsbetting I guess!

I would be terrible at sports betting! I would be looking at random selections there... Based on my world cup picks, that doesn't work out so well!

Yep that's pretty much how most things begin XD

Just one more....

hahaha! yeah sir bengy like thedamus says! yeah, you gotta get three of everything now, you have no choice! lol.

Only three? Maybe just one more!

hahaha! sir bengy you are going down hard to this new disease called Stackitis, I'm shocked how fast it's taken you down! You might have to play concerts overtime to handle this sickness!

Ha ha, we'll see how bad it is when the first order arrives!

ha! sir bengy are you going to do an unboxing post? the first of thousands? lol.

I think I will, definitely for the first one! Perhaps not when I reach a thousand...

haha! sir bengy will be like a kid on Christmas morning! That will be a good post!

That is exactly how it goes 😂

Ha ha... I will have to make sure my wallet is nowhere close when I go shopping...

Omg ikr? I have a wish list a mile long right now.

Posted using Partiko Android

haha I see the signs of the disease spreading fast! I entered a few competitions on steemit early on but never won anything. So I guess I gave up on the silver gold thing. I hope it isn't catching! xD

Ha, I did the same! Entering some contests to see to try my luck! Still am, I figure it is a nice use for the liquid Steem and SBD I have, otherwise I would be shuffling it off into low cap crypto anyway!

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS @steemitbloggers family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97