Art Bars! 🇺🇸

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)

America the Beautiful

F69A04F1-34A9-41DB-9801-3E752D7A5511.png

USA


What could possibly be better than new silver?

The answer of course is OLD silver, and no one does old silver better than the Hamilton Mint. If there was a holiday to be celebrated, a place to immortalize or an event to commemorate, Hamilton Mint did it in silver. Their 1970’s art bars are some of my favorites, and lucky me recently picked up a few from the America the Beautiful series.

Cape Cod

qc3mswzfik.jpg

SO MUCH TONING!!!

I LOVE this bar. It is one troy oz of .999 fine silver minted in 1974. The bar is one of fifty bars that comprise the America the Beautiful set. It features one of the many lighthouses along the shores of Massachusetts’ Cape Cod. This bar is number 0317 out of 10,000.
Sand dunes, beach grasses & turbulent ocean breakers join to make this seashore a spectacular place of land & water.

Washington Monument

5uj0hz61xq.jpg

Honoring the nation’s first president.

For being minted in 1974, this bar still has quite a luster. The monument side of it is particularly shiny. Number 8549 of 10,000 minted, the bar is 1 Troy oz of .999 fine silver. The inscription on the back reads:
Cherry blossoms of the Potomac. Delicate pink cherry blossoms adorn the Potomac & the Tidal Basin in Washington DC, delightfully announcing the arrival of the spring season.

Sea Port

5qe19ylr4y.jpg

It’s a vessel bar!

Here we have a Hamilton Mint bar that is a little different from the first two. This bar is part of the America the Beautiful series, but it is 24K GOLD plated .999 fine silver. The bar is number 0257 of only 5,000. When I purchased this off eBay I didn’t notice the gold plating. While gold is not my preference, this is still a nice little 1oz bar.
Sea port: Rustic harborside dwellings & weather-beaten fishing trawlers in Port reflect the beauty of the Sea & the basis of our heritage.

Great Lakes

38449vlurg.jpg

More gold plating.

This last bar, showing ships sailing across the Great Lakes, is also .999 fine silver plated with 24K gold. It is one troy oz and was minted in 1974. This bar is also number 0257 of 5000.
Great Lakes: Formed by giant glaciers centuries ago the Great Lakes, encompassing 94,000 square miles, are collectively the largest body of fresh water in the world.

It is my goal to collect all 50 bars in this fun series.☺️


Proud Member of:

steemsugars, steemusa, teamaustralia and steemsilvergold
4D04C982-DBFA-4599-B179-8E899C200ACD.jpeg
0EC5D354-C826-496C-8108-C1772F42B1DD.jpeg
FAA57C22-84BF-4D82-9DE9-CED7481AAEF2.png
D9427A4B-A875-448F-BD82-65056EEF73ED.png
7674BC2C-F441-4FA7-843C-B97EB5291545.png

Sort:  

Very Cool! I wish more silver was made into art! So shiny!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello! Some coins are really beautiful. Even the boring stuff usually tells a little bit of a story or history of the spot it is minted. I really love traveling, so these pieces that highlight little treasure of the USA make me happy. ☺️

Thanks for stopping by and have a lovely Wednesday!

Wow. Those are sweet. Would be cool if you can find all 50!

I think the finding them will happen. The bigger challenge will be finding them for reasonable prices! 🤣😂

Beautiful!!!! And a great goal to have, @dfinney! WTG! It will be a fun journey, for sure, hunting for all the pieces in the series! Keep stacking, my sweet friend!

Always stacking. 😂🤣😃

I am always ogling the art bars. The tricky thing is the first five I got for generic price at the LCS. I dream of being that lucky again!

Hehehe, I know what you mean! That is why I am really re-thinking my stacking strategy! I will share my thoughts with you, just as soon as I decide to pursue it! I am so very happy to follow your journey , my sweet stacking sister! Thank you for sharing your success with us, @dfinney!

@dfinney Check out @stokjocky's Ebay Store. He's a Art Bar Magnet so I think he could help you fill in some of the few 49 of 50 remaining spaces in the collection. Wink @silversaver888 Sis. And once he knows what to look for I'm sure he could bag a few for you.

There goes my well-guarded secret to acquiring vintage art bars, hehehe!!! Yeah, @dfinney... @stokjockey is the man! But you already know that. If I recall correctly, you already use him, no?! And I cannot wait to show the vintage art rounds he most recently picked up for me.

I bought something off @stokjockey on Steemit once but haven’t shopped his eBay store. I should rectify this. 🙂

I know he is the king of art bars, and I knew he had an eBay store but I have never shopped it.

Sorry @stokjockey

That's quite an impressive collection you have my friend! Also... having 10 of 50 pieces of the #americathebeautiful series isn't anything to "not" be proud of. I also respect that you are using cotton gloves while handling your beautiful collection pieces; I have to admit...I was having flashbacks of Nicholas Cage in National Treasure. Beautiful presentation via both wonderful photos, and informative messages.

I do believe I will look at more of your content soon and wish you luck in collecting the rest of those amazing pieces of art. Of course, upvoted, and resteemed...even got a follow!

Hello @wesphilbin! This is one of the most thoughtful comments. ☺️ Thank you for stopping by! I often see your name in my discord notifications from the steemusa chat. Oddly I read the chat in there a lot but only participate sometimes! #lurker 👀

My content is very coin focused lately... which is pretty boring if you’re not into coins! As spring rolls in things will get more varied with less coins and more vacations, concerts and general adventures. ☺️

I was gifted the gloves recently by another coin collector. I feel very nerdy when I wear them, but it does protect the silver from all those pesky finger prints. 😄 Is it just me or has Nicholas Cage been in less stuff lately? Oh actually, i think his voice was in a newish Spider-Man cartoon. 🤔

Have a wonderful Wednesday!

Oh lordy... I spelled his name wrong!! Nicolas Cage lol...and yes indeed; I saw an article from July 6th, 2018, talking about how he would "voice Spider-Man Noir in upcoming Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse" Source

As for dealing with coins... perhaps if you aren't into coins, then yes...it might be boring. But honestly...how could you be bored about things that have to do with our country's beauty? Perhaps its an "American" thing? No matter... concerts, vacations, and general adventures sounds... dangerous but exciting! Perhaps this is where I would ask; what music would be playing on those concerts? Sounds like many, many opportunities in which to create posts!!

It is ….. beautiful. I think most of the gold is off already as gold does not tone that much.

Agreed. The bars definitely have a yellow gold coloring still but enough is gone that the tarnish is seeping through.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dfinney from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Wow, cool set to collect. Good luck.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! I bet in the end there will some pain in the ass bar that is super hard to find a then way too expensive to buy. 😂🤣

Damn. Those are awesome.

See! The itch is coming on. 😄

Very cool dfinn, i love edge stamping its so cool.

I do as well. I am surprised it isn’t done more often. Not just for serial numbers but for little messages.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01