Change

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)

Steem Silver Gold

First off, if you are a member of Steem Silver Gold, you might be interested in reading THIS post by @silverstackeruk. He has announced his decision to step down as a mod from the Steem Silver Gold Community. SSUK informed a few of us of his decision yesterday.

Many things in life are uncertain, but change is always guaranteed. I know it often causes worry and insecurity... but I am feeling positive about SSG and our group’s continued success. I feel this is a GOOD change.

@raybrockman and I have spoken a little bit today and will chat more about next steps tonight when we are both off the work clock. ☺️ Needless to say SSUK’s departure changes the logistics of who does what for our group. We will get a plan in place and let everyone know the details ASAP.

vft3fh0cav.jpg

SSG is a big crazy clan of opinionated, fun loving people. We are all united by our love of stacking but don’t necessarily all love one another. That is Ok and expected in such a diverse group of individuals. Everyone has a right to share their opinions. Opinions create good and bad repercussions. True in life. True on Steemit.


Personal Things

This morning I heard some sad family news. My parents let me know that my Aunt’s brother died overnight. This is my dad’s, brother’s, wife’s brother. So not my immediate family, but a man I met on several occasions. He was always kind and warm. A funny guy who was deeply religious but I think his life challenged his religious upbringing. Maybe made it hard for him to balance the conservative indoctrination of his youth with the reality he lived. He was divorced. His daughter loves girls. He struggled with substance abuse.

Over the past few years he moved from place to place a lot. During this time he spent several Christmases with me and my extended family. He had been in Seattle trying to stay sober. He left here in 2015 or 2016 and sobriety didn’t last. His death was from alcohol poisoning.

I am not sad for myself personally. I am sad for my aunt having lost her brother. I am sad for my cousins who have lost their uncle. I am sad at the futility of dying in such a preventable way. I feel like a lot of times in life we create our own obstacles. Making things harder for ourselves only because we don’t put our own health and happiness first.

My final thoughts for you today my friends... Take care of yourselves and love your people (friends, family) fully, openly and without regret.

❤️ dfinney


Proud Member of:

steemsugars, steemusa, teamaustralia and steemsilvergold

7A7C24AA-C47F-4F80-A687-07FCEBCAA193.jpeg
EB65C711-EA0F-42C9-A0E3-A078B8EE4F69.jpeg
E14B7623-D630-4660-BFCE-446AD55BF5EB.png
DDAC8B95-77E8-4434-8331-3A31668774F3.png
0B2DA29D-10DC-4C7E-A523-426E2393E871.png

Sort:  

You have been upvoted by all four members of the @steemexplorers team. Steemexplorers is an initiative to help bring all Steemians information on various services and communities operating all on the STEEM blockchain in a centralized location to save you time and help you grow here on Steemit. It's free, it's easy, and there's a whole lot of information here that you can put to good use. Please come by our discord channel to learn more and feel free to ask as many questions as you'd like. We're here to help! Link to Discord: https://discord.gg/6QrMCFq

I'm very sorry to hear about your loss @dfinney. :(

Thank you @jonnyla08. It is a funny thing... though he is a close relative to my family members for me he is this kind fellow I met a few times in my life. Sort of... oh hey Aunt Kathy’s brother is coming over this year and then I wouldn’t see him again for a few years except via friendly facebook posts and comments. It’s just such a crap way to go out. My heart hurts for his kids, siblings and him.

Sorry for your loss, but he can no longer hurt himself and is in a better place. RIP.....

Very true. Thank you for the kind words.

Change is inevitable sometimes fortunately and sometimes unfortunately. I had no issues with @silverstackeruk and wish he could stay as a mod but his decision at the end of the day. For a community of mainly men, there is a lot of drama! and they say us women are drama! I don't really know what happened, just wish for everyone to learn to get along even if we disagree on some things. We all have opinions and I don't think anyone should feel like they have to censor themselves to please others but that's just me I guess.

I'm sorry to hear about your sorta uncle's passing. Difficult times we live in and not everyone finds the tools to cope with this craziness we call life. You are right when you say some get so caught up that they forget to see life's troubles as a learning opportunity to evolve and rise above rather than sit in despair and engage in self destructive behaviors. Sad nonetheless.

@ladybug146 you are right. Change can be fortunate and unfortunate. The trick is of course trying to make the best of the unfortunate changes.

A community of mainly men for sure. I am always happy to see more females join the group. Sometimes all the testosterone gets a bit much. 😉

Thank you for your kind words regarding the passing of my aunt’s brother. It is funny. So many people touch our lives. Some become good friends... some just pass through. While my time spent with my Aunt’s brother wasn’t long he left a warm and kind impression. It is sad his own addictions and struggles didn’t allow him to appreciate his own worth.

❤❤❤ got nothing but love for you girlfriend

Posted using Partiko Android

Same for you. ❤️❤️❤️

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by dfinney from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to dfinney! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!
We have also recently added a new whitelist feature for those who would like to support CurationKiwi even more! If you would like to receive upvotes more than 2x greater than the normal upvote, all you need to do is delegate 50 SP to @CurationKiwi using this link.

Hi @curationkiwi! Special squad of highly trained hamsters prepared this delegation link for you:
steemconnect 50.0 SP delegation to @curationkiwi.

Thank you dfinney! You've just received an upvote of 100% by thejollyroger!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @curationkiwi.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62981.24
ETH 3034.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75