Gold Rush: White Water!

My girlfriend and I only recently got a cable TV subscription. Already I’ve discovered a new favourite show, Gold Rush: White Water! I’m pretty sure I’d seen an episode or two before of Gold Rush, the original series, but I never appreciated it as much more than drama and digging holes.

Gold Rush: White Water follows a group of hardcore prospectors using weighted diving gear to dig to bedrock 10+ feet under a freezing cold raging creek in Alaska. They hope to find thousands of years worth of gold that has settled there. Incredibly strenuous, high adrenaline and dangerous, it’s pretty much the opposite of what I do to make money or of my experience walking into a bank to buy gold with that money.

image

It’s really got me thinking though, about the lengths people will go to for gold, the draw it has upon peoples hearts and minds. Truly seems supernatural, beyond a simple market value sale price consideration.

It also left me wishing I had the knowledge and means to seek out precious metals in such a way. Might be a metal detector on the beach on a sunny summer day for me though. I’ve seen someone panning for gold at a popular local swimming spot, but I have to imagine that’s as much a meditative activity as it is hopeful to actually find anything of significance. Still, I’d like to try it. I’ve kept broken sterling silver pieces of jewelry found on the ground before, so it doesn’t take much to be of value to me.

And now, our new cryptocurrency digital gold rush adds a whole new competitive way for people to take risks and strike out for hopeful massive rewards. I wonder if there will be a TV show worth watching about Bitcoin mining? It’s certainly not without its drama and excitement.

Anyway, I should stop the random musings and get on to making tacos. Gold is important to me, in some ways I don’t even fully understand. But tacos are also important.

Check out that show! I found it captivating.

Wish you all peace, freedom and prosperity.

Sort:  

Nice gold piece, collecting precious metal can be addicting. Lol Thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69718.72
ETH 3746.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81