Silver stacking adventures - very humble beginnings

I suppose no one ever said that treasure would be easy to find.

Now, strictly speaking, this is not my first foray into silver accumulation. I did buy some gold and silver several years ago, the boring way, at a bank, and it's still sitting pretty in my safe. But the 9999 stuff are all Canadian Maple Leaf coins, no interesting variety. I'll nonetheless share a post about it at some point. Upon discovering Steemit, and steemsilvergold in particular, though, I definitely got the itch to add some different pieces. And I set myself to exploring all the local coin stores this time, rather than looking online or to a bank.

On Monday, I set out from home to the nearest shop, which is not even a block away, and yet I've lived here for years without even knowing it was there. Now, with an imminent move far across town, I finally check it out in time to leave it behind. Upon arrival on Monday, I found the store closed (open only by appointment).

IMG_2586.JPG

My plans to return on Tuesday were dashed by my girlfriends request that I accompany her downtown, where she had an appointment. While she was in that appointment, I walked to another nearby gold / silver / antique store, and OH MY, I have no pictures to share, nor did I acquire anything that day, but boy am I excited to go back soon with some money in hand. I promise I will, and will share about it. I checked out another shop that day too, but it was very cluttered and didn't have anything appealing enough to bring me back.

On Wednesday I returned to the first store, entering via the rear entrance at the mall, nearest which it was nestled into a corner where I'd never previously discovered it.

IMG_2590.JPG

IMG_2591.JPG

Open, this time, I spent several minutes gawking at everything. I'd most specifically hoped to find three nice, pretty silver 1oz bars, one for myself, and the others as gifts for my girlfriend and my brother. Sadly the selection they had there wasn't quite exciting enough for me to feel compelled to gift any of it. In fact, I left empty handed and went shopping for groceries, before the "stackitis", which I've now come to further understand, drew me back in. I knew I wanted SOMETHING, even if I couldn't decide what.

Ultimately, I bought a 1oz Buffalo round from a private mint. At some level, I favour non-government minted coins. My appreciation for precious metals comes largely from a disdain for government currency.

IMG_2592.JPG

IMG_2594.JPG

It feels so good to have added even just this tiny bit to the accumulation.

Today I set out to visit another store. I also finally planned to visit one of five local coffee shops voted best in town in an article I read over a year ago - I've been saving it, open on my phone, intending to visit them all. I had a lovely latte in their comfortable atmosphere, albeit rather itching to walk the few blocks to the store with the shiny shiny.

IMG_2613.JPG

IMG_2607.JPG

IMG_2610.JPG

That's pretty beautiful too though, no?

So I walked the few blocks to the store ...

IMG_2612.JPG

Then, and I am sorry for the let down, I didn't buy anything.

Unfortunately all they had in 1oz were more Canadian Maple Leafs. They had some really nice 10oz Silver Bull bars for $230 Canadian. I simply could not justify spending that right now, funds being tight with the upcoming move. To be completely honest though, I just might find a way to make it happen before the weekend is out.

So yeah, lots of adventuring, but not so much stand-out treasure acquired so far. But I'm excited, and having fun, and what better to have fun at than stacking solid wealth!

Wishing you all the best in your own wealth building endeavours, and I hope you have a great day!

Sort:  

Yo d-monkey, do you live in Victoria?
That coin shop sure looks familiar 😜👍

Indeed I do. Moving soon out the wild frontier of Langford.

I was just in that shop a couple weeks ago — maybe thaz why there was little selection left!
Lol
Greetings from another British Columbian!
😎👍

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 06:11:41
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 5.05/100.00
Total Photos: 1
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

1 more for the stack!

Maples are easy to resell, so these are often bought by new stackers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70272.86
ETH 3773.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82