finding gems in your pocket changesteemCreated with Sketch.

pm.JPG
Let me start this one off with a big THANKYOU !! to all who were kind enough to comment on my first post.

I tried in vain to leave a reply to each and every one, however with no SP yet it would
not allow me to comment. I'm definitely a noob here but the learning curve isn't to steep, I'll be sure to reply once I get the little things figured out.

Ok, onto another short story:

A few years back I met an older gentleman named Dale. Super nice guy, typical run of the mill baby boomer. He was a widower, and having little to no savings had worked through his golden years as a maintenance
man in the hotel where my wife worked for room and board and some spending money. I remember him talking alot about retiring over the months, and when the time had finally come he had asked
me to help him load some of his heavier possesions into the truck, which i was happy to help with.

A big part of the heavy load was half a dozen 5 gallon wine carboys filled with change that he had collected since the 40's. Dale told me his first trip was to the bank to cash it in. Being a silver bug
and collector I told him that he had a small fortune there, I insisted that he should sort out the silver first because the bank was likely to pay him at face value and rip him off, not to mention the
likelihood of the rare collectible coins he may have. Dale was adamant that it was to much time and effort, so I didn't push the subject and left him to it. Dale did in fact get ripped off.

I bring up this story here and now because there are probably hundreds of stories like this. Alot of people dont realize that a simple sweep of a magnet will separate the valuable old silver coinage
from the newer base metal coins. A keen eye can spot the silver quarter out of a pile but why not just use said magnet?

Next time your rolling up your jars of change try it out, you may be surprised how many silver dimes and quarters still find their way into circulation. I just went through one of my change buckets and scored
a few pickers today!

Cheers!

Sort:  

Dale should have known better, can't trust these bankers. Hadn't really thought about the magnet trick to be honest, thanks for the tip.

I think you may find my posts interesting...
April 28, 2019... #ssg-membership

I'm finding odd sources of loose change and I do check them for Pennies that are Copper rather than copper clad steel, nickels that are actually nickel since their commodity value are more than double face. Not to mention those with very low mintages, American/ foreign coins, Stamping errors and of course silver ones.

I know how that feels - have only been around here for a bit more than a month - but when I asked in the server howcome I couldn't answer people they helped me out :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lordneroo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @dragonfart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 100 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 250 upvotes.
You got a First Reply
You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

This post is supported by $1.48 @tipU upvote funded by @lordneroo :)
@tipU voting service: get instant upvotes + profit sharing tokens | For investors.

Glad to see you have continued to post beyond your introduction post.

When you first come onto Steem it seems like you are posting and no one notices after your intro. Keep at it. Visit other posts and comment, comment, comment.

You could also join the Pimp Your Post Thursday show on Thursdays to share your posts and get to know others.

Thanks for being part of Steem
!SHADE 2

@shadowspub
The current Rambling Radio Schedule can be found here
It's All About Community!



Hi dragonfart the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

Dang, I feel kind of bad for him because he probably had some good stuff in there. Whoever frequents that bank is sure to find a few gems occasionally. Great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60