A Treasure Addict (Hunter) is born

Good Day Everyone! Welcome to D Wings World, Where Information and Adventure Await. Many of you know my phrase, slogan, or motto whatever you want to call it. However, not many of you know where that phrase comes from or why I say it. I thought I would do a little post on the birth of my Goonie self or the treasure hunter within. First, most of you know that a my inner Goonie is a reference to the 1985 movie featuring One Eyed Willie and a ban of rag tag kids trying to find his treasure to save their homes. A Goonie is someone whom is considered an outsider or awkward, and I embrace these parts of my personality. I have always seen the possibilities, the wonders, and the thrills just waiting beyond that door in the world. I think we all share this trait primarily while we are young, but some of us hold on to it as we grow. Sure, we stack because we know it is a safe haven for our wealth and a good way to diversify our investments, however deep down under all that responsibility we still enjoy the treasure aspect of it.

one eyed willie.jpg
Source

My journey to becoming a treasure hunter started at an early age around 7 or 8. I mean all kids like pirates, but my fascination with pirates and treasure really took off after a family trip to North Carolina. In the town of Beaufort we visited the Maritime Museum, which not only highlights ship wrecks, but a man named Edward Teach. You may know Mr. Teach by a slightly different name, Blackbeard the Pirate! Blackbeard sailed up and down the coast and although his home was made in Bath, NC he often stayed in Beaufort. Hammock House (3rd oldest house in N.C.) is filled with history, mysteries, and the fact that the famous pirate stayed there. This enthralled my young mind thinking of a pirate hoarding his loot somewhere near this house to return to his ship. On top of that there are legends of how he murdered one of his many wives at the home, which only adds to the intrigue. As I grew this love of history and adventure molded what interest I had from coins (treasure), metal detecting, even prepping as I figured if I were to be on an adventure I would need the skills to survive.

blackbeard-head-242x300.jpg
Source

When I was about 16 the fantasy was still there, but as all boys do there were more important things (read girls lol). I kept being the dreamer and the history buff, but my inner Goonie took a back seat for just a little while. Amazingly, I can remember it clear as day when he awoke again. It was March and I was not asleep right around midnight if I remember correctly (Keep in mind this was about 16 years ago lol), I was watching the history channel and a show appeared discussing the Atocha. For those of you that do not know, the Atocha was a Spanish galleon that was holding a giant amount of treasure that was bound for Spain from Havana Cuba. Aboard this ship were emeralds, gold and silver bars, pieces of eight in chest, religious artifacts, and whatever other riches many had snuck on the ship. This ship and 260 people aboard would never see the land of Spain as they were dragged into the ocean by a violent hurricane; only 5 survived the ordeal. This sparked the candle inside of me once again and then the show mentioned a man by the name of Mel Fisher. Fisher located the Atocha, which is a story for another day, but in him I saw the adventure and thrill that I always knew was out there.

{Atocha Cob poured with a little silver from the Atocha in them. Available at from Prospectors Gold and Gem
20180524_151432.jpg

20180524_151400.jpg
(Photos by @dwingsworld taken with a Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge)

I started to learn about what Mel Fisher did and how he found the ship. From this I learned the meaning of information and how important research really is to treasure hunting. In fact, Fisher’s company and family are still salvaging and looking for the Sterncastle of the ship, which should hold even more treasure. So I know what you are thinking what does all this stuff have to do with that phrase? Well, Mel Fisher would start everyday looking for the Atocha by saying “Today is the day”. He said that for 17 years and one day it was true. I believe that we must remind ourselves of our goals in order to achieve them and that’s what Mel was doing.

Bounty-Mel-Fisher.jpg
Source

Make sure to check out Mel Fishers Salvage Operations and take part in the diving if you'd like!!
Here

For me, I start each day thinking Information and Adventure Await! Sometimes it deals with stacking or treasure hunting, other times it deals with being out in the woods and having a good time with my crew of Goonies. It is this mantra though that reminds me there are such fantastic and amazing things out in this world just waiting for us to discover and all we must do is seek them out. Every day I see opportunity and potential left to wither and die by those that refuse to put effort into making things happen. I refuse to be one of those because I want others to see the amazing finds that are out there and the amazing adventures that await. This is why my Steemit Blog and YouTube Channel feature this motto. It is a way to try and remind everyone that great adventures and excitement are still out there all we have to do is get up and go get them. Let me know if you are a Goonie for anything. It could be pirates, civil war relics, colonial relics, gold, silver, or something that I am not thinking of! I appreciate everyone taking a look at my blog and please remember to upvote, resteem, and reply!
Thanks again! ~D Wing

Precious-Swimming-FInal.gif
(Precious Thanks to @silversaver888)

Sort:  

When it comes to #metalsmafia Poured Pirate Silver, shipwreck silver, or replica silver like those Daniel Carr cobs, yep I'm Gooned.

@kerrislravenhill you my lady are a true Goonie Sister!! Your amazing collection of poured silver and amazing ability to spin tales of wonder are extraordinary!! Thanks for all your support!!

#iamagoonie

Great blog and I always wanted to know where you got your saying and why you use it and now I know. 👍

@welshstacker Love the hashtag!! #Iamagoonie for sure. Thank you for the very very kind words and happy that I could share that with you! Thanks for the support and great hashtag my goonie brother!!

A wonderful story. Thanks for knowing you a little better.

@ronaldoavelino thank you for the kind words!! You are very welcome and I appreciate you taking the time to read and support me!!

@stokjockey you sir are most certainly a Goonie for #piratesunday!! Thanks for your support my goonie brother!!

Hi dwingsworld,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

OMG!! Thank you so much!!!

I loved the Goonies too XD

It is exciting to think of all the treasures hidden in the depths.

Do any salvaging operations employ underwater drones to survey the ocean floor, or is that still some ways off in terms of tech ?

Posted using Partiko Android

@pbock I agree with your love of the Goonies and it is exciting!!
Actually the Mel Fisher company is still searching for the Stern Castle of the Atocha and they do emply a drone to map out and search the floor. When there is a good site location they then use props to blow giant holes in the sand and search for relics. Thanks so much for your support and taking the time to read my content!

I can understand you very well, since childhood we are all frown up with pirates stories and treasure map dreams. It is a truth if someone would like to go for treasure hunt first station is to go to library and investigate first what and where is possible to find. I think a good research of background will really reward anyone. Thank you for hint about Mel Fisher, I have never heard about him but would read about that sounds very interesting. :)

@stef1 you are so correct that research and history truly play into the hunt for treasure. One must be willing to put in that time in order to find the big score. You are very welcome and I know you will enjoy the company if you check them out. Thanks for your support!!

Curious story! By the way, pirates have always seemed like inspiring beings to me, even though they live in a movie where they set the traps, they are beings capable of getting what they set out to do, that's what I like about them. In our life we can understand their philosophy of treasure, we always look for something. hahaha. Thank you for sharing your writing in these places, and congratulations.

@fernando.lubezki thank you for taking the time to read and support me as it would be pointless if others did not enjoy what I do. I agree that we are all searching for our treasure in one way or another. It is up to us to find what it is and find it. That is the fun of life. Thanks for your support!!

Sure, amazing adventure awaits us we just need to get out there and go for it! Glad to see how your fascination with it has led you into hunting even more treasures, you didn't let that 7year old boy's dream to just die👍

Haven't heard of the Fisher guy before, well, it could be because i am not a treasure hunter. Being a hunter must feel really great, yeah?

@audreybits I agree that the adventure will never come to you if you do nothing. Do something and failing is even an adventure that could lead to success in the long run. We must all know that we walk a path and sometimes there are more steps than we thought.
I am stubborn like that lol. I tend to drive people nuts cause I throw myself into things whole heartedly no matter what.
Check out Mel Fishers company and you will see the amazing work they have done and continue to do. Thanks for your support!!

When you put your heart into it, you keep going even when it seems like you are failing. And all of that definitely is part of the adventure and journey which definitely will pay off with time... And you will end up learning alot! Sure, i will look them up!

howdy there sir dwingsworld! this is such an encouraging post with principles that work in all areas of life as well as for goonies! lol. I can truly see how you became one. Wonderful story and photos as well!
Does your treasure hunting mostly involve stacking nowadays?

@janton I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment on my post!! That is so true that there are basic principles that will always be important in treasure hunting but are needed in all areas. My treasure hunting involves metal detecting, have looked into the hidden treasures of the book "The Secret", will be diving the Atocha site one day, and stack as well. Thank you so much for all your support!!

howdy again dwingsworld! Well I think being here on steemit is a great fit for you and I don't think there are any other treasure hunters here are there? So your thing is very unique, most stackers are just going to the local shop for silver. lol.

Good Day @janton and I really appreciate you very kind words and great comment. I don't know of many others off the top of my head ,but often there are many parts of stacking that some don't show. I know there are a ton of gold hunters and metal detectorist on YouTube where I also have a channel. If I can find more time I will make sure to put more of those activities up. Thank you again for your support!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62332.64
ETH 3006.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94