Found Treasures #6 (Surprise)

Hey all you awesome Steemians out there!! Welcome to D Wings World!! Welcome to the fifth and final post of my series Found Treasures! If you have not had a chance to check out my other post please make sure to visit them below.

Booty Box
Charlotte Hornets Charm
American Silver Eagle
Silver Certificate
ASE #2
Superman Gold

This episode is really the crowing jewel if you will of the series. Here I depict something that I knew I had, but had not known where it was for a little while. Many of you will notice a lot of the items that mean the most to me are those that family have had a large part in getting. This piece is no different and holds significant emotional value to me. My grandfather was a soldier in World War II and when he returned from the front he brought this back for my grandmother. It is a bracelet made up of 8 individual George V three pence banded together by three small links on the top and bottom of each coin. The three pence range in dates with the earliest being a 1918 and the latest being a 1936, which I believe was the last year of the George V. These are composed of 92.5 % silver with a plain edge and were minted in London, England.

20180822_123826.jpg
(All photos by @dwingsworld taken with a Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge)
Reverse of the bracelet

20180822_123807.jpg

(1918 and 1921 reverses)

20180822_123736_001.jpg

(1920, 1931, and 1932 reverses)

20180822_123723_001.jpg

(1936, 1920, and 1931 reverses)

(All the obverses are featured below as you can see they all feature George V)
20180822_123857.jpg

20180822_123842.jpg

20180822_123849_001.jpg

I often wonder when my grandfather purchased this item and from whom. He never told my grandmother who he got it from only that it was in France that he actually obtained it. As with all pieces of history I wish I knew more of the stories or those that held it prior to me. Did my grandfather get it knowing that he would be coming home soon or was there still a looming notion that he would never make it back? Did it pass through the hands of other GIs or civilians? Truly the stories it has seen are locked within its precious metals walls, but those add to the intrinsic value.
There you guys go and thank you so much for taking a look! The best of all the treasures I located on my crazy remodeling hunt lol. What do you all think? Do you have a piece like this or something that carries so many thoughts? I appreciate all your support and time! Please remember to upvote, resteem, and reply! Thanks! ~ D Wing

Precious-Swimming-FInal.gif
(Precious thanks to @silversaver888)

Sort:  

Love the story with this! Thanks for sharing

Thank you for taking a look. The connection to my grandparents and WW II really make this piece very special to me. Thanks for your support!

that is a most awesome tale thank you for sharing it

Thank you brother for enjoying the post! It means a lot to me. Thanks for your support!!

Lovely tale. It is a pity that you could not find more about the past of this jewel.

@ronaldoavelino I agree my friend. In a way though the mystery adds to it. The ability to write in the missing parts gives us all a little control over what its essence. Thanks so much for your support!!

Fabulous, nice little background to a sentiment heirloom.
Have I got a coin bracelet to show you! But it will have to wait as it is not easily accessible and in the safe keeping of a relative.

@kerrislravenhill I can't wait to see it one day when you are able to do a post on it. Thanks a ton for the very kind comment and the teaser of a possible future post. Appreciate your support!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82