Rwanda Nautical Ounce Post #1

Welcome back to D Wings World my Steemian friends and stacker family! As you may have seen this post was delayed due to me attempting to start a deer space program. Spoiler Alert: I failed terribly. On the up side, I am back featuring the Rwanda nautical Ounce I teased yesterday. Lets begin with what I showed in my last post. These coins are 1 ounce of .999 fine silver and the reverse features the official seal of Rwanda with the face value of the coin, which is 50 Francs.

20180712_184423.jpg
(All Photos by @dwingsworld with a Sumsung S7 Edge)

On to what is on the obverse of this coin. Which of the series am I highlighting today? Well, I am featuring the very first in the Nautical Ounce series released in 2017 commemorating the 525th anniversary of the discovery of America (information from Apmex: https://www.apmex.com/product/154215/2017-rwanda-1-oz-silver-nautical-ounce-santa-maria-bu ) The design of this coin blows me away with the Columbus' famous flagship front and center; the Santa Maria. A galleon that makes the Goonie in me go crazy!! Add to that fact, other design elements like the name of the vessel being worked into the waves below the galleon and the nautical compass above it that draws the eye; you have a winner! At the top of the coin there is a small circular area showing nautical tools like a telescope, compass, and sextant (instrument used to find out the latitude of a ship). Around the rim of the coin is the name of the series, the year of issue, and the quality of silver that it is made of. Behold the Santa Maria Nautical Ounce below!

20180712_184500.jpg

This coin had a limited period of production between August of 2017 and March of 2018. I think that the coins are great, although they did have a mint issue with the mint packaging containing PVC and causing some damage to peoples coins. I got lucky because I put mine into a capsule, but I only buy this series for my personal collection due to that event.
So what do you think of this series? Did you get any? Did you get hit with the PVC issue? Do you still collect this series. What do you like or not? Thanks so much for checking out my content and please remember to upvote, resteem, and reply!!

goonies ship.gif
Silver Wing right at #piratesunday prepare it is right in front of us!

Precious-Swimming-FInal.gif

(Precious thanks to @silversaver888)

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Your support of us is spectacular!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89