STUNNING ENGLISH SILVER MILK JUG!

milk1.jpeg
A couple of years ago, I was fortunate to stumble upon this little beauty.
milk4.jpeg
It is beautifully made and ornate in style. It obviously belonged in a set; unfortunately, I have no clues to any other pieces that might be still floating around.
milk2.jpeg
Upon researching the hallmarks; this piece is London Birmingham, crafted by Stephen Smith and William Nicholson. Based on the stamps at the bottom of this picture, the ladie's silhouette indicates the decade of 1850's but the small letter f indicates 1861. To the best of my knowledge, I remember reading somewhere that this was crafted and set on shelf for some years before someone purchased it and had it monogramed 1892. It was already 30 years old by then.
milk7.jpeg
I am just glad that somehow this missed being melted down for bullion. That would have been a sad loss! If you have any additional information on this piece, I would welcome hearing it.

Thanks for stopping by! If you enjoyed this, please upvote and re-steem! Have a nice day!

Sort:  

That's beautiful. I'm also glad it wasn't melted down! It's a piece from when families thought about generational wealth... not like today.

That is so true! I like to stack, but I also like to look for the pieces that might have had some meaning to someone long ago or something that's special. This one rolls all that into one!

Absolutely stunning piece!
🤩🤩🤩

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71