More treasure hunting -garage sales

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Hey everyone.

I was up for more treasure hunting today. First at a garage sale, for an alarmingly cheap $0.25 I picked up a 17 jewel ladies watch. Now it's not worth much, and it's running slow, but it's a mechanical Swiss watch. The band was hideous, so I bought another watch for $3.00 at another garage sale and put its band on the antique watch. Its a leather "gator skin" band.

IMG_20180603_153826.jpg

This is the old band and donor watch.

15280668638545528355438329430786.jpg

Then when I got home, I popped over to my neighbour's house, for her garage sale, she's an old lady who's husband was a goldsmith/jeweller apparently. She was selling a few of his things, and I picked out a nice mens pinky ring, about size 7. Sterling silver with a tiger's eye stone. I liked it right away, and asked her how much she wanted. She said for me, $5.00. sold. See I like this lady and she's by herself, and about 80 years old, so I make a point of doing her snow removal, and various "man jobs". Anyway, she was happy that I liked a ring her husband made, and I was happy to have it.

IMG_20180603_162702.jpgIMG_20180603_162649.jpg

This ring was made from a blank ring, and he cut the stone for it. I like it, and won't sell it, it's a keeper for sure.

Thanks for reading

image.png

Sort:  

You are right, this ring is a keeper. Congrats.

Thanks Ron. Yeah, it's special cause her husband made it.

Live the cool finds! My dad was a rabid garage-saler and i remember going out with him Sat mornings to see what we could find 😎👍

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Thats a sweet ring with a great story forever.

Sure is, thanks Ed.

You made some good deals there ;-).

Thanks smartcoins

I think the watch is neat but the ring is awesome! Especially the story to go with it!

Thanks, yes the ring is nice, and it's cool that her late husband made it!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99