Stacker's Alchemy pt. 1

GetAttachmentThumbnail.jpg


Turning Junk into Gold

Today was a good day. I feel as if a bit of weight was lifted off my shoulders. As I mentioned in a previous post, my stackitis has seemed to branch out beyond the precious, and I've found myself with an abundance of steel. This particular time, the steel comes in the form of a sad, sad GMC Suburban K2500

DSC00285.JPG

I had big plans for this truck, but fate seemed to feel differently and my busy life mixed with a bit of bad luck sealed her doom. The misfortune came by way of a giant tree branch that happened to fall on her during a severe thunderstorm while I was away on vacation, terribly busting up the windshield and busting out the rear window. My neighbor tried to help by moving the branch the next day and throwing a tarp over it, but quite a lot of water had already poured in. By the time I got back from vacation I could already see and smell the mildew and mold. My heart sank. Since it was sort of a project vehicle and not my daily driver, I had no insurance on the poor baby. I pretty much knew then it was the end, but I just didn't want to admit it to myself. As time went on I would look at her and think maybe, just maybe... but there she sat and sat.

DSC00286.JPG

Finally last week I decided to put the nail in the coffin so I threw out a couple ads on the old Craigslist. Usually when I sell or barter things I make special mention of my affinity for silver or gold and this time I was not disappointed. It just so happened that the fellow who wanted the burbo most insistently also had a bit of the precious to spare. It's not much, but along with the fiat I happened to acquire a gram and a half of gold and a couple bars of silver. One bar is 1 ozt and the other weighs 10 grams.

DSC00332.JPG

DSC00338.JPG

DSC00343.JPG

DSC00347.JPG

DSC00351.JPG

DSC00354.JPG

DSC00362.JPG

Not a bad haul for a piece of junk that was just sitting there collecting rust and dirt. It was too late when everything was all said and done for me to visit any of the local coin shops. Otherwise I might have been able to achieve a few more alchemic conversions today, but I'm still fairly pleased with the outcome. (though it looks like I need to adjust my camera angle a bit on the mirror-like silver, as you can see the flesh color of my hand and even read the brand of the camera in the reflection on those bars. lol) Believe it or not I actually have another Suburban I plan on converting fairly soon, but we'll leave that for another day. Until next time, keep your Spirits and Stacks high.

Sort:  

Amazing how old trucks can always we sold, someone just has enough cash, or in this case a mutual agreement among two parties.....Deals on wheels. Another project truck will come your way when the time in right as your PM will rise in value.

Oh I already have another project in the works right now ;) That was part of the reason I was finally able to part with the one today. I'll probably make a post about the new one sometime in the future.

Congratulations @freespeech4ever! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62