Coin Shop Currency - LARGE SIZE ONE DOLLAR BILL - BOSTON - 20180615

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Coin Shop Currency - Large Size One Dollar Bill - Boston

Just some quick photos of Coin Shop Currency - Large Size One Dollar Bill - Boston

I picked up this Large Size One Dollar Bill Boston from a local coin shop.

LARGE SIZE ONE DOLLAR BILL - BOSTON

This bill has some collectible value to it. However, my bill has too many folds, tears, dirt and and damage due to circulation.
GK_LargeFormatOneDollar_Boston4.jpg

Large Size One Dollar Bill

The One Dollar Bill states

  • "NATIONAL CURRENCY SECURED BY UNITED STATES CERTIFICATES OF INDEBTEDNESS OR UNITED STATES ONE-YEAR GOLD NOTES DEPOSITED WITH THE TREASURER OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA"

FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF BOSTON

The One Dollar Bill states

  • "THE FEDERAL RESERVE BANK OF BOSTON MASSACHUSETTS WILL PAY TO THE BEARER ON DEMAND ONE DOLLAR"

BLUE SEAL OF THE TREASURER

The One Dollar Bill contains the Blue Seal of the Treasurer

Here are the pictures...

LARGE SIZE ONE DOLLAR BILL - BOSTON - FRONT

GK_LargeFormatOneDollar_Boston0.jpg

LARGE SIZE ONE DOLLAR BILL - BOSTON -REVERSE

GK_LargeFormatOneDollar_Boston1.jpg

LARGE SIZE ONE DOLLAR BILL - BOSTON - FRONT COMPARED TO CURRENT BILL

GK_LargeFormatOneDollar_Boston2.jpg

LARGE SIZE ONE DOLLAR BILL - BOSTON - REVERSE COMPARED TO CURRENT BILL

GK_LargeFormatOneDollar_Boston3.jpg

Photo taken by me . . . . .

by @goldkey

..

Sort:  

interesting, much larger than a normal Federal reserve note. I cannot quite make out the year, 1914 ???

There's May 18, 1914 for its date, which I think is its authorization date. Then there is 1918 which represents when this series was created: Series 1918.

Very nice, i have Silver Certificates but never got my hands on one of these!

I was fortunate to arrive as the shop keeper of my Local Coin Shop was starting to review some bills that he had picked up as a collection. I'll be going back to see the rest of what he received.

I'm not a paper collector, but that's a cool bill. Thanks for sharing it. :)

I've just been drawn to these bills lately in an effort to bring some thoughts about silver vs silver certificates vs fiat currency.

  • Where have we been?
  • Where are we now?
  • Where are we heading? ***

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Back then, a Dollar was a specific weight in silver, or whatever it took, to add up to a Dollar in U.S. Coinage... The Coinage aspect, still applies, after all these years... There's still time to get in on the Ground Floor...

Keep Plugging that PC Theory, which is one reason why I am going over these various currencies....
What have we done in the past and what are we going to do in the future?

Thanks again for the info.

Thanks for following. Are you wondering, where are we now and where are we going?

@goldkey I love the Boston note. I am local. Would you consider selling it/trade? Always open to discussing if so.

I'm loving this BOSTON note too. It makes me think, "How far has this bill gone?" because it started in Boston and made its way to Midwest, USA . . . just like me :)

catch me on discord or chat to discuss

You got a 5.30% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @goldkey!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

I have always wanted to collect bills. I feel kike its impossible at this time and age.

Your local coin shop probably has some old currency. Sometimes, the bills do not have a lot of collectible value, so that means they're very affordable

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98