Coin Shop Currency - SILVER CERTIFICATE - FIVE DOLLARS - 20180610

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Coin Shop Currency - Silver Certificate - Five Dollars

Just some quick photos of Coin Shop Currency - Silver Certificate - Five Dollars

I picked up this Silver Certificate - Five Dollars from a local coin shop.

BLUE SEAL - SILVER CERTIFICATE - FIVE DOLLARS

This bill has some collectible value to it with a value of six dollars. It is worth an extra dollar and it looks cool with its Blue Seal and Blue Serial Numbers.

GK_SilverCert_FIVE_0.jpg

SILVER CERTIFICATE STATEMENT

The Five Dollar Silver Certificate states

  • "THIS CERTIFIES THAT THERE IS ON DEPOSIT IN THE TREASURY OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA FIVE DOLLARS IN SILVER PAYABLE TO THE BEARER ON DEMAND"

SILVER CERTIFICATE

The Silver Certificats have not been printed since the early 1960's and these bills have been 'replaced' with Federal Reserve Notes. In 1964, silver certificates could no longer be exchanged for silver dollars. In June 1967, Congress placed a one-year redemption period for the silver certificates, which allowed the bearer to receive silver bullion. The redemption period ended in June 1968.

NOT FEDERAL RESERVE NOTE

This is NOT a Federal Reserve Note from the Federal Reserve System, so it is "free of interest".

END THE FED

When I see the "END THE FED" signs, I wonder if the solution for the elimination of the Federal Reserve System is possible by returning to the silver certificates (and gold certificates) issued by the United States Treasury.

Please comment if you know more about the Federal Reserve Notes versus the Silver Certificates.

Here are the pictures...

SILVER CERTIFICATE - FIVE DOLLARS

GK_SilverCert_FIVE_3.jpg

SILVER CERTIFICATE - FIVE DOLLARS FRONT

GK_SilverCert_FIVE_1.jpg

SILVER CERTIFICATE - FIVE DOLLARS REVERSE

GK_SilverCert_FIVE_2.jpg

Photo taken by me . . . . .

by @goldkey

.....

Sort:  

I like these old notes and the History behind them. Thanks.

I'm glad you like them. I am sharing these to get to the point that the History that they represent should be examined to look forward to our future.

I used to go to the bank and get rolls of silver quarters & dimes for paper ( play) money :)

WHOA! Yeah! That was the way to do it back in the day. That was probably in the early 1960s. I wish I could do that today.

I doubt you could actually redeem it in 1963. Still sad.

The Secretary of the Treasury halted redemption of silver certificates for silver dollar coins in March 1964. So, I assume that you could redeem in 1963. Further, you could redeem for silver bullion up to June 1968. At least that is what the Treasury stated.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Growing up my best friends dad told us all to go get silver from the bank and save it, some of the best advice i ever got!!!

Great Advice - Glad you listened.

Silver and Gold Certificates mean "we'd" have to have a Very Large Stockpile of Gold and Silver... We can't use Gold and Silver as a Tool to Measure Value... Their Value needs to be Measured by a Tool with little Value... Money serves as a Tool to Measure Value... A Currency doesn't have to be Backed by Gold or Silver to be able to Buy Gold and Silver... Money "acts" as a Medium of Exchange... It needs no Value to do that... In other words... A one Dollar Ruler can be used to Measure a Multi-Million Dollar Object...

When Money is used 'only' as a Medium of Exchange, then your points are valid. Further, in this view, Money as a Medium of Exchange can be 'anything'. In prison, cigarettes are used as currency. In developing countries, beans or sticks or stones may be used as currency. It is true that anything can be used as long as the community accepts the currency and it has a standard weight or measure.

When the currency is no longer accepted by the community, then the value drops to nothing, zero, like Germany following WWII. However, cigarettes and beans have some intrinsic value where the cigarette can be smoked and the beans can be eaten. In Germany after WWII, the paper money was burned for warmth because it had no other value because it was no longer accepted by any community.

For various reasons, gold and silver have always possessed intrinsic value, which will always maintain value more than paper.

I agree that Gold, Food and Cigarettes will always have Value and can be used when all else fails... My point is that our U.S. Coinage is already an accepted means to measure value... I realize the Silver and Gold will never return to our "Common Coinage"... I do like the fact that Common U.S. Coinage belongs to We the People, and not the Central Bank Owners...

I certainly VALUE your replies. It took me two days to reply to you because I had to ponder my response.
Your comment: " Their Value needs to be Measured by a Tool with little Value" really struck me. I had to ask myself: Does it need to have little value or a lot of value? I'm still pondering that. I guess I expect it has to have 'some value', meaning that it can not have 'no value'.
Interesting thoughts.

I have to "suspect" that the Central Bank Owners have been Drumming it into our heads for a very long time, that our only option to break free from their Debt Notes is with Gold and Silver Backing... We have been lead to believe in their lies... We're all breaking free now, and it's killing them... We've been using "their" debt notes for years, and paying interest for its use, without question... People insist on telling me that our Coinage no longer has Gold, Silver and lately, very little Copper... My reply to them is that Federal Reserve Notes have no Gold or Silver threads, woven into them, and yet I hear nothing about what little Value they have... Paper isn't a bad idea, as long as the Paper belongs to We the People, and not the Central Bank Owners... Anyway, I just hope I make a difference... Let people see things the way I've been seeing things... I'm tried of the Central Bank Owners, ripping us off...

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! 🦄🦄🦄

Such a sad day when they stated that they would no longer honor in silver any Silver Certificates, of course you could redeem them for Fiat..... (:

This sad day repeated in 1971 concerning gold.

I remember, i bought a 10 Peso Gold back then had to mail order,only way back then to get any.

It's been a while since then. You knew the value of gold way back then, and yet a majority of people still do not have a clue.

You got a 3.26% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @goldkey!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Right now silver certificate coin is good price. I hope it will be more in bull market of cryptocurrency.

I did not know that there was a cryptocurrency related to silver certificate. Which exchange has it?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01