COIN SHOP VISIT - FIVE PEACE DOLLARS - 20180616

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

COIN SHOP VISIT - FIVE PEACE DOLLARS

At my recent Coin Shop Visit, I picked up FIVE PEACE DOLLARS.

FIVE DOLLARS in FIVE SILVER PEACE DOLLARS

I picked up Five Peace Dollars from the local coin show. These are from 1922 and 1923. These are in Brilliant Uncirculated condition and very shiny, which is why I selected these.

I went to pick up Five Dollars in Silver Dollars. In the Early 1960s, I could have gone to a bank and received these five silver dollars after giving them a Five Dollar Silver Certificate. In my recent post, I displayed a Five Dollar Silver Certificate.

CLOSE UP- SILVER PEACE DOLLARS

GKCS_5PDa3.jpg

FIVE DOLLARS in FIVE SILVER PEACE DOLLARS - FRONT

GKCS_5PDa1.jpg

FIVE DOLLARS in FIVE SILVER PEACE DOLLARS - BACK

GKCS_5PDa2.jpg

FIVE DOLLARS in FIVE SILVER PEACE DOLLARS - FRONT / BACK

GKCS_5PDa0.jpg

.

Sort:  

I have only 6 of these Peace dollars from my father, living in Canada I don't come across US Constitutional money often, when I do it's usually very well circulated. I just happened to feature a 1925 in my last post. https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@kerrislravenhill/it-s-piratesunday-a-prize-and-a-gift-from-mutiny-metals

I'm sure that you have 6 more Peace dollars than most people. It's great to have coins from your father. I have a few Walking Liberty half Dollars from my mom.

I was told on facebook if you take a silver certificate to a federal reserve bank they will still honor it with silver. Dont know if this is true or not just thought id share.

That's no longer the case... That option ended about 50 years ago...

Correct: 50 Years Ago
Final Redemption Period, one year, enacted by Congress in June 1967, ended in June 1968.

Your PC Theory must love the idea of a Final Redemption Period for Fiat Currency, Federal Reserve Notes.

@pocketechange is correct. In June 1967, Congress placed a one-year redemption period for the silver certificates, which allowed the bearer to receive silver bullion. The redemption period ended in June 1968, 50 years ago.

Check out my previous post.

Coin Shop Currency - SILVER CERTIFICATE - FIVE DOLLARS - 20180610

https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@goldkey/coin-shop-currency-silver-certificate-five-dollars-20180610

Nice Peace dollars my friend. They look great.👍

Thanks silverd510, these may be the best Peace Dollars that I have now.

I think that Peace Dollars have much more "character" than Morgan Dollars, but I don't know why...

Compared to the Morgan dollars, I think the Peace dollars are more beautiful. Like beauty, 'character' is in the eye of the beholder.

You got a 5.23% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @goldkey!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68