MYSTERY PRIZE - CAN YOU IDENTIFY THIS COIN? - Do YOU collect US COINS?

in #steemsilvergold7 years ago (edited)

Please tell me the YEAR and TYPE of this coin

I have a coin, pictured below that can be identified by this picture alone.
I am not showing the front of the coin. Coin collectors of these U.S. coins can determine the year from only seeing the reverse. Let's see how many numismatic coin collectors we have here on steemit.
IMG_MysteryCoinReverseHDRQuestion1.jpg

What do you think?

What do you think about numismatic coins? Do you collect them? U.S. or all nations ?

MYSTERY PRIZE GIVE AWAY

I'm giving away a mystery prize to 3 steemians who reply below with the correct YEAR and TYPE of coin in the picture.
[The mystery prize is based on the average value of the mystery coin]

BASIC CONTEST RULES:

  • Please Follow Me
  • Please Upvote this Post
  • Please Leave a Comment - Provide the YEAR and TYPE of coin. Additional descriptions are OK too.

Re-Steem would be nice.

I will use a random tool to select 3 winners at random.
I will post the winners in 7 days, on 10/09/17.

WHY I AM DOING THIS

I've been collecting coins for over 40 years. The true purpose of this post is to bring awareness to the value of numismatic coins.
There has been discussions here on steemit and in #steemsilvergold concerning...
silver stacking vs bullion stacking vs junk silver vs numismatic coins.
The discussions often are based on premium price over the spot price of silver.
I am putting this post out to bring attention to numismatic coins.

EDIT:
IMG_MysteryCoinObverseHDR.jpg
The Mystery Coin is a 1943 Steel Wheat Penny
CoinTrackers.com has estimated that this coin has a value at an average of 65 cents.
So, the mystery prize is: 0.65SBD EACH

The random winners are. ...

WINNER: @gniksivart - Congrats!

WINNER: @melinda010100 - Congrats!

WINNER: @grizzman- Congrats!

Winner Winner CHICKEN DINNER FREE 0.65SBD EACH

.

Sort:  

WINNER: @gniksivart - Congrats!

WINNER: @melinda010100 - Congrats!

WINNER: @grizzman- Congrats!

Winner Winner CHICKEN DINNER FREE 0.65SBD EACH

- by @goldkey

.

Whooo hoooo! Thanks so much!!💕

You're welcome. . . stay tuned :)

You're welcome too

1943 US steel penny? As a one year old child in 1955 I swallowed one of those and had to be taken to the hospital to have it removed from my throat. Its still around here somewhere.

Funny reply, LMAO!

I have no memories of it...but my mom probably didn't think it was funny at the time! And my dad had to change his habits about where he left his change.

I thought that was a funny story too

Wow you got it fast and had time to add a story about a Steel penny. Very cool and congrats! Glad you made out OK as a child and interesting that you still have the coin from 60 years ago

Only because my mom saved it! She always referred to it as a lead penny.

Thank you @melinda010100 for your entry and your hilarious story.

That's a 1943 steel cent! I have a 3 set of those P, D, and S

Thanks @grizzman for your entry. From your reply, you have shown that you are a coin collector.

Thanks @ohmano for your entry and good luck.

Yeah I was going to guess it was a steel penny as well, but were they only made for 1 year? Seems to be that way since everyone is guessing 1943 or do they know it's from 1943 because the steel wheet penny was only made for 1 year?

Thanks @gniksivart for your entry . . . good luck

1943 penny\o/

Thanks @coindevil for your entry. I guess with a name like @coindevil that you are a fellow coin collector.

absolutely \o/

My interests were primarily based around silver coins, and also mainly pre decimal UK coinage, however recently i have moved towards the US and world coins as well ,ive just started looking at proof sets of UK coinage and even started to get the odd BUNC Cupro Nickel coin. I like coins in general \o/

Being in the US, I am learning about international coins now, Perth mint, Brittanias, Pandas .... Great Times for silver stackers.

This post has received a 2.19 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @goldkey.

This post has received a 2.67 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @goldkey. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 1.04 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @goldkey. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60695.64
ETH 2900.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.53