South Korea Zi:Sin Gallus Silver Medal (BU)

I know there has been a lot of posts of these South Korean coins from KOMSCO ... so why not one more :):):)

I added this coin to my lists because of the posts about this mint and I am glad I did. These might be a part of the regular coins I add to the pile every year. The silver Pandas have been a great investment and if these South Korean coins can have a little of that thunder, this could be special for ROI so I'm hooked. Here's the one I got

2017 - South Korea Zi:Sin Gallus Silver Medal (BU) 1 ounce
**I'll start by stating the premium is rough .. over $6/ spot but only 33,300 minted !!!
IMG_0540.JPG
IMG_0541.JPG

It appears there will be 2 series of silver coins but the other series is twice the price ?!?! So I'll stick with this series called the 12 Guardians. The series will eventually feature 12 designs in total, and launches with the 2017 Gallus design.

More Info on this particular coin and the Series:
The new Zi:Sin Series from KOMSCO is also known as the Twelve Guardians. For the Korean people, the belief in the Twelve Guardians reflected a collection of twelve commanders who would lead God’s army in the protection against evil forces coming from all 12 directions. This offered protection to the world from all directions at all times.

Gallus is the first release in the series, which features both silver and gold medals. The medals are available in this bullion release, as well as later releases of a proof version. Gallus is a messenger of light, displaying a light as bright as the sun.

The obverse of the 2017 1 oz South Korean Zi:Sin Gallus Silver Medal features the image of Chiwoo Cheonwang’s battle shield. On the face of his shield is the head Do ggae bi, a mythical being referred to by some as a ghost or monster that was often hung at the ends of roof tiles on homes as a strong spiritual presence to ward off evil spirits. This face also contains the engravings of the nation of issue, mint mark, weight, purity, metal content, year of issue, and the latent security image of KOMSCO coins.

On the reverse of the South Korean Zi:Sin Gallus Silver Medal features the image of Gallus. Dressed in full battle regalia, the light of Gallus on the battlefield helped to disperse the demons of the dark side. He also had a powerful roar that instilled fear in even the most evil demons, and the point of his helmet enabled him to foresee upcoming events.

Sort:  

I do love this coin and I picked up a few for myself. I do think the warriors outfit is ridiculous. He's dressed as a rooster! How intimidating is that supposed to be?

maybe this is where cockfighting originated from ... LOL

Itsba beauty. Love them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62916.93
ETH 3028.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67