Will Steem Ever Be The Platform It Was?

Recently I have read numerous complaints regarding the steem platform. Everything from complaints of it being manipulated, insiders, "a club", greed, back stabbing, and myriad negative connotations about its workings.

Today the platform sits as a shell of what it once was and hope to be. The traffic on it, the content and quality has waned, much like the world of Crypto it was so heavily tied to.

My question is this, "Will Steemit every be what it hope to be and return at all to the platform it was in early 2018?"

If you ask me, I say no it will not, unless there is a serious revamping of the process and the way it is operated. It appears for the most part a smoke and mirrors scam, that is complex, demanding of cult like servitude to an elite upper class of SBD holders, and will suffer as a result.

I will continue to post and utilize the blog platform, as it is a nice medium to discuss and share content, however the video portion was never functional, and the currency itself is utterly worthless at this point.

Sort:  

I think steemit will have a place. I wrote last year that all crypto-currency was the same because of shapeshifting. Now I know and I understand lots have fundamental differences (centralized etc.) but really all boats rise with the tide. Steemit is down now but the steem I bought last week is up 25%. If advertising comes to the platform I bet you it shoots up to new highs. I hope the gangs/thugs that have fucked it up will be into supporting changes that bring some of their wealth back. I also see a big push away from Facebook and into censorship resistant platforms. The EOS steemit copy will take a while to get the momentum that steem has.

I just can't write daily and settled on weekly so almost all Bots are impractical to me. I don't have the free time and what time I have to post a blog come at the expense of sleep. Staying off the Hamster wheel, and going my own pace. Sometimes I get some recognition, most times not. Why do I stay? Because of a few special people but I'm hoping to have more reasons than that. My days can be numbered.

I'm a bit the same myself but have been busy for a while too. I was probably producing my best content when I posting weekly and it's what I'm thinking of trying to get back to. I haven't written about it yet but reckon we might be on the bounce back so hang in there ;)

I like to see all Delegations returned to their Owners, and no more Buying of Up-Votes... This will give those with Quality Posts a Bigger and Better Reward from their Followers... Just once, I'd like to see a Posts real Value as Viewed by Others giving Up-Votes... Oh, and remove the Slider so that everyone has to give a 100% Up-Vote...
March 7, 2019... @pocketechange

The steemsilvergold group is having fun here although we are not as big as on YT (video of you and salivate we cannot beat) AND we make a good return whatever way you look at it. The SBD/Steepower is gradually shifting to all steemians. Takes time but some posts show there are much more with 5K USD (invested) than before. I also put in some grants. Greetings from a Dutch tuber (goudhaantje or @goldrooster here). Powernap is my investment account.

Hmmm... I have earned several thousand Steem and cashed some out to buy stuff. So I know it’s very much a real currency. I used to make $100/ mo on YouTube. Now I make much more with Steemit.

Congratulations @juniusmaltby! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85