Pirate Plunder at the local CoinStar Machine

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)

Well this is my backup blog post since things have gone a bit out of control in my life as we speak. I’m not panicking; I’m okay, no one’s hurt, just overwhelmed for now, with projects coming due, Canada Post now on strike, appliances failing, the Boss scrutinizing my work getting all too typical lately. Short and sweet.

On my way home from my Night Shift Saturday mornings, between buses I usually stride about an Independent grocery store to pick up a few discounted provisions for the crew. After the Cashier I hoist my colors to check the reject coin slot of the Coinstar Machine for neglected booty. Will it be Silver? Gold? Doubloons? What do I find?


Dimes an older 1978 Nickel 2.07 gm KM#77, 2001 Year of the Volunteer Commemorative Nickel version KM#412 (there is a sweet 2018 Silver Version) , 2004, 2008, 2013, 2014 KM#492 see Numista for more details.


Typical Canadian nickels; 2003 KM 182b, 2008, 2012 KM491 nothing outstanding no obvious minting errors or mint marks of note. See Numista for more details).


I think these are the more ‘Fun Finds’ in my Coin Star Pirate Plundering policy.
Aye, United Kingdom Pennies!

1981 Bronze Penny KM 915 301.8 Million coins made Numista
1990 Bronze Penny KM935 with 529 Million coins made. Numista


More delightful coins!
To the Left, Japan 1978 10 Yen Showa Bronze Y73a type 53 between 1959 to 1989 1.453 Billion made. I may need correcting for this as I don’t read Japanese too well. Numista.
On the Right, Austria One Euro Cent KM3082 Copper plated Steel 168.5 Million made Numista


And…blank slug on the far left that may have come from an Electrical box.
While the 75 cents worth of fiat Canadian coins get dumped into my Stacking fund these Foreign coins are totally fun to get.

So do you have a Change Counting Machine at your local store?

Got a huge jar of change but too lazy to sort and count them?
There is treasure to be found in these Change Machines!
Just keep ye unpatched eye peeled at those Reject slots and Precious, the Mermaid may smile upon ye.
No Charge.

“Et lux in tenebris to serve laboro, sum sicarius” “I work in the shadows to serve the Light, I am an Assassin”

Sort:  

Welcome to the Coinstar Club :-D
Yes that is exactly like an electrical box slug. Good Eye, Missy!

You have received an upvote from the CryptoSicko Delegation Bot. Thank you for supporting and helping to build me

Whoa, interesting finds in your coin machine! Hmmm... so the reject coins may be key... good to know. I enjoyed this article, Sis. It gave me a little peek into a tiny part of your day. Thanks for sharing, Sis!!!

The Real Cool thing is The 90% Silver Coins get Rejected and They are Just waiting in the Change Return to be Mined...........@silversaver888

Some customers just don't bother checking the Rejects slot. I get a decent haul of legal tender as these machines tend to reject a small quantity of perfectly good coin. Any silver is a bonus of course and foreign coins to build a nice international collection for free.

And funny thing, the contents in the Reject bin could be more valuable than the change exchanged for just regular FIAT.......

It can be worth it just for a moments quick check other than the entertainment value in finding something interesting.

That is a nice haul from the coin machine. The only thing I ever find here is Canadian quarters.

One day you will find that once in a lifetime coin in that reject slot, it will begin with tiny discernable glimmer among rejected coppers. The store's elevator music changes to epic orchestral melodies swelling into sweeping violins accompanied by an angelic chorus. Then as the music reaches a crecendo that glimmer becomes a warm gold hue. You step closer in anticipation. Your heart pounds and your hand trembles as you reach and take hold of the coins. Slowly, you open your fist. Among the pennies is the sweet figure of St Guadin's beauty holding high the torch of liberty, the legend declares $20, all set upon a hefty warm yellow metal wealth sought by men for six thousand years. But this only happens in the movies right @stokjockey and @silversaver888 ?

Love The Coin Star Machine at my Safeway. Always got the Eye Patch to One Side when I pass By after Checking out my Groceries................@kerrislravenhill

I still check out the train ticket machine and the pop machines too. I'm amazed on how much cash can be left behind.

Oh yeah! I check them whenever I see one. I've found lots of foreign stuff. Never any silver though. But my credit union has a machine, and I pulled a silver quarter one time!

Keep looking @fat-elvis , I'm beginning to stake out all the Coinstar machines in my town along my usual travel routes and shopping malls. Good hunting Sir.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94