1930 United Kingdom 1 Shilling Silver coin

Hey Steemit!

Having a blast of a week so far! I hope you're all doing great.

For today's post I thought we'd take a look at beautiful coin from the earlier part of last century in the United Kingdom. Unfortunately, I no longer have this coin in my possession as it was sold this week on our store.

This coin is a 1930s United Kingdom 1 Shilling silver coin:

Reverse side

s-l1600.jpg

Obverse side

head.jpg

Coin specifications:


Metal: Silver (.500)
Weight: 5.65 g
Diameter: 23.5 mm
Shape: Round
Edge: Reeded [1]

Coins from this era can attract extra interest from collectors as 1930 is within the Great Depression and as such coins from this era can be a little more scarce. This year has a fairly decent mintage though, which is why you can still purchase it at quite an affordable premium to spot. Collectors, however, may value it if they're attempt to assemble it in a set.

Thanks for reading. Comment below if anybody else here collects UK silver coins.

Draft profile picture for ebay.png

If anybody in Australia is interested in purchasing some semi-numismatic circulated silver coins. Then please visit my eBay profile page and take a look:

Magnum Opus on Ebay

Feel free to 'like' us on Facebook here:

And follow on Instagram here:

Sources


[1] UK 1 Shilling coin - Numista
Source: https://en.numista.com/catalogue/pieces4416.html

Sort:  

That is a lovely coin! I can see why it was grabbed so quickly!

Yeah I almost had a bit of seller's remorse letting it go but I'm sure it's gone to a good collector.

I think we have many collecting UK coins here like @gdwcoins for instance. He trades them.

Cool, I have followed them on Steemit now. Thanks.

I dont collect British coins, just bullion and USA but i do seem to have a lot of British in stock

These are a very common coin in the Uk and i like the shameless plug for the ebay, you shoukd head over to the ssg discord as there is a section for doing trades and deals for all kind of countries on there.

i like the shameless plug for the ebay

I don't think it's against community standards to put links to other pages and Steemit was encouraging entrepreneurship to be conducted on it's platform a year or so ago, so I don't see the problem.

I do enjoy seeing different types of coins from all over the world and this coin is no different. I usually just see the US coinage, being here in the US, and that is probably why I enjoy looking at them so much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68