Bicentennial Day Commemorative Piece

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

Like I said, the LCS has been pretty grim lately, so I've been going a bit outside of my normal buying habits out of necessity. I wouldn't normally have given this piece a 2nd look, but since it was literally the only piece of silver they were selling at generic price, I picked it up.

Now that I own it, though, I kind of like it. It's Sterling, and stamped such on the side (I couldn't get a clear picture of the mark), and was put out by the Franklin Mint in 1976.

Side 1 features a pretty standard Declaration of Independence signing scene, with the 1776 date on it.

IMG_20180912_183530904~2.jpg

But in my opinion the really cool thing is on the other side. It recreates a similar scene, but using politicians of the day in 1976. I think I can pick out President Gerald Ford, but I'm not sure about the others. Probably his VP and cabinet.

IMG_20180905_191242158~2.jpg

It looks like it originally came with a folio and COA, but those are long gone.

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

@methus Slim Pickens at the LCS............

You know it. This too shall pass.

It is an interesting round due to the fact that it mixes real politics and modern days politics.

LOL, I love that you said real politics to contrast current politics. Well played.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95