More Info on my Prize

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago

IMG_20190211_201831227~2.jpg

I've been researching the prize I won a bit more and found some pretty interesting info. So, to start, the Hospital National Trust Bank was a financial institution in Rhode Island, created to handle the financial side of the Rhode Island Hospital. Eventually it expanded and became a regular bank, used by normal citizens and offering the normal bank functions you would expect. In 1985, it was acquired by Bank of Boston, and got folded into their brand.

This bar was likely a giveaway item, as a "thank you" for opening an account or somesuch. It looks like it was minted in 1981, but the mintage number is unknown. I know that serial numbers are not necessarily indicative of mintage, but I've seen examples online as high as in the 35,000s. Between the serial number and the likely circumstances surrounding the initial creation of the bar, I feel like it's safe to assume there were a whole lot of these produced.

However, since it was a giveaway item, and not an "art bar", speculation is that many were melted down over the years, especially during the last spike. So there's not really any way to tell how many of these still exist.

For me personally, this checks off several of the things I look for when buying silver. It's a bar, it's older, some toning, clean design, it has a serial number, and I don't already have one. I'm thrilled to add it to my collection.

Thanks again to @silveringots for a great game and a great prize!

Sort:  

Thank you for using CryptoSicko!

Well done and thank you for joining and supporting my subscription based upvoting bot that provides you with daily upvotes in exchange for your spare STEEM POWER.
Delegation links for CryptoSicko
100SP 250SP500SP

Very cool history on that bar! Great addition to your stack.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98