Another Steem Coin? Have a look for more details.

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

I stumbled upon this steem coin the other day and was quite surprised.

I was surprised to learn that there was another steem coin!( I'll just stay coin, but it's really a token or medal, since it's not a coin or round, but alas I digress) Looks like from reading the post by @diana.catherine and comments by @masterinvestor it may have been in works for a while, but stayed under the radar.

You can read the entire post here

Of course we also made a steem silver round in 2017 and are currently in the works or making one for 2018, you can read more about our design contest and community input here.

We also want to take this chance to clarify that we are in no way affiliated with this coin or team and were not aware of it's existence until the post yesterday

We will also withhold an further personal opinions.

They are currently retailing here on amazon for $20 CAD and only available to be shipped to Canada.

According to the amazon listing they are;

.999 fine gold plated solid copper physical coin.
40 mm diameter.
23 grams.
Each coin is contained in an air tight & dust-proof case for protection.

The comments from @masterinvestor suggest there are only currently 100 available, but also references a first strike batch of 100 that he was unsatisfied with that "never made it to market." He was also asking for vendor and distributors so I'm unsure if this is for other orders or these 100 medals. I have reached out to @masterinvestor but no answer yet so I am waiting to hear back.

I ordered one last night when I saw the post for my own curiosity so once that arrives I will do a further review and hopefully will have heard from @masterinvestor regarding final mintage figures and the first strike batch by then.

We may also be willing to host a group buy once the coin arrives and we are satisfied with it, for anyone that wants one of these since they are only being shipped in Canada. We would likely just order a set amount once we establish demand and host them on our site for purchasing, we would also be able to accept steem as payment that way. We could also just hold them for the time when sales go live for our 2018 Steem Silver Round and offer them for purchase at that time so people can combine shipping. We would maintain the same price but would need to add 4% to cover our store and website fees.

Anyways take a look at this coin

Sort:  

Nice design! Too bad it is not real gold. Next to worthless.

If you follow upvote comment and Resteem me I Will Do same

I promoted your post. see what happens. I like the coin. That's how to make the currency Fungible. hope it takes

Much appreciated. It's exciting to be helping to make this more available and also creating another one with the community.

Thanks for mentioning my coin @phelimint. I started the project as an early steemit enthusiast who became enamoured back in July 2016.

I set out to create a physical coin about a month later. As you mention, my first attempt led to lack luster results from a Chinese manufacturer. The coin looked more like one of those chocolate coins we ate as kids. Too big and lacking definition. None of those coins were ever circulated.

About a year later I was able to connect with the manufacturer of the "bitcoin" coin you see in most articles about bitcoin these days. I took another risk and asked this Chinese manufacturer to strike a batch of a 100 gold plated copper coins. I was very pleased with the details of the coin and set about getting things set up on Amazon. As I winter in warmer climates and my country of choice has a slow postal system and I couldn't find a reliable person to mail out coins then I chose fulfillment by Amazon. Unfortunately the process of setting this up outside Canada required more time than I had available so it became limited to Canada.

There are only 100 coins in existence with about 20 being handed out to friends and family. 50 are on Amazon.ca and another 30 are with a friend.

I feel much gratitude that you are willing to buy some in bulk and make these available to a wider audience. I could arrange for the 30 or so coins to be delivered to you by my friend. Please contact me via steemit.chat/direct/masterinvestor.
With gratitude @masterinvestor

Thanks for reaching out and I we have been in contact.
Thanks again.

Finally some benefits restricted to Canada! How do I get one - truely Canadian

Although the design and gold tone are nice in my opinion it's a piece of junk. The gold is basically worthless if it's electro plated and it's composed of copper which is dirt cheap. I prefer the silver community driven effort from the silver Steem round myself to the one made in China

Yeah, they are certainly different projects

I think it is just amazing!

I bet our Steem coin can beat up that other Steem coin!

Haha, nah, hopefully they can all get along.

cool design, let alone the right gold color

@phelimint Very grateful, I did not know of the existence of Steem's physical coins ^_^

Interesting post-- I'd rather invest in a true silver/gold coin. But the design sure is pretty!

nice design but i like this oneDQmTs5k2f46zsQxWY1sAJwpJo78ZjY1HoPBkFk1JLwNJzcQ_1680x8400.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56