Looking for design ideas and feedback for the 2018 Steem silver round!

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

So it's officially time to starting planning for the 2018 Steem Silver Round.

We made the official first announcement in this previous post HERE

And some further Follow-up Here

There's a lot of info and discussions over on those posts that still needs input, but in this post we're just going to focus on the design idea and I feel that's the first major step.


Here's a quick reminder of the 2017 Image that was used. The Round was titled "Community" and created by the amazing designer @bearone.

We will once again go to the community for designs and art submissions, but first need to establish what the design is going to be. So we are not at the design submissions stage yet!

The obverse(back/heads) will stay the same with the Steem Logo and standard silver round markings. It will give it a nice clean look and keep the flow between the annual releases.

The big question is what to put on the Reverse, or Front/Tails side of the round.

I'm currently undecided personally, but the whole point is to have maximum community engagement and input with the project so we're reaching out to everyone with feedback.

Community vs Open Design?

Community

Half of me thinks we should really continue to make this a "community" round, and look for the designers to find another way to display the community feel here on steemit and capture that on the round. For me 'community' has always been the most important aspect of steemit and the reason most of us stay as active here on the platform as we do.

Open Design

The other half of me thinks we should just keep it wide open and let the designers come up with anything steem/steemit related at all. It could be absolutely anything to do with any aspect of steemit at all. Most of the other initial submissions that were also excellent were very different than this first one.

Here is a recap of the other designs for last years project.

Other Ideas

Of course there's also the likely possibility that someone around here has a way better idea than me, and has another idea for an amazing theme or design for the round that would help carry the project in an exciting direction and there is still lots of time to have more discussions about that.

I know this year with the expanded focus on the project and the chance to better reward the designers that make submissions, as well as the fact we're no longer restricted to a 2d die, the finished project is going to be amazing.

Depending on where the discussion heads from here we may proceed with a vote or if there is a clear preference, we will continue with the design contest shortly.

The remainder of the discussions, and more info about the 2018 project are still happening over here

Lastly we are committed to keeping matching COA numbers for the number 1-100 rounds for 2017 customers and we are also trying to crowdfund the project to ensure we can keep the price point down and reward designers so any donations can be sent to @steemsilverround, we are also committing the SBD from post payouts to help fund the project.

Sort:  

I think it would be a good idea to have a face value of 1, 5 og 10 Steem as to demonstrate that Steem is in fact a coin.

QR Code for Steem !!!!!!!!

Yeah, I know the mint has done QR codes before it's an interesting idea.

...a qr code to Stax’ wallet 😳

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

QR Code !!!!!!!

I have a bitcoin one that is in my top 5 coins. If we could get a steem one, my bitcoin one would be a piece of crap compared. lol

I have nothing yet for tails — but re: neoxian’s comment, maybe we could make the heads side say “1 Steem” — just as a way of valuing Steem higher —-> 1 Steem = 1oz o the shiny!

You are on to something there! I like the face value as 1 Steem, sort of like the different governments do for their silver coins. Then it wouldn't be a Steem round but actually a Steem coin! I love it!

Itsa mofo to change the die though...

But we’re all working on it!

This is interesting for sure it would be fun to add a face value like that, but I've also heard warnings about this kind of thing, since the government doesn't like people "making currency"

Hmmm, what about mining bitcoin?

I’m not arguing with you, justbthinking out loud... if it’s not possible ? (or too expensive) i get it...

You're so nice for commenting on this post. For that, I gave you a vote! I just ask for a Follow in return!

I have the winning design right here... No need to hold the competition

It’s PERFECT! lofl

Thought you might like it. Shall we just end the competition now and start minting these bad boys??

I was wondering which side was heads/tails.
I've just been going with the fish tails.
Nice to see I was right :)

Yo buddy, the 2sbd donated to ssround from Polo is from @thedamus

👊😎

I saw that in there! You’re awesome!

If I've learned one thing during my time on Steemit, it's that there are a lot of creative and talented people out here. I say, throw it out them the masses and see what you reel in? You never know just what might come in!

Thank you... Thank you very much... Another Star for you...

COIN MAN by @pocketechange A Penny will cost a Dollar...

Yeah, there's so many amazing artists, It's going to be amazing!

What if we make every other year an open steem design and on the next year follow with a community design. At the core we are a community but it would be nice to have an open design every other year. Best of both worlds in my opinion.

I'm not much of one for creativity. I think Steemit gives you a ton to work with. Decentralization, blockchain, free speech, community, revolutionary, and much more. Looking forward to other submissions! Resteemed!

@rachyroo, I think they're talking to you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55