A "TOOL" TO MEASURE "VALUE"...???

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Money is a Tool to Measure Value...

I never heard it put that way before...

I've heard it called a "Medium of Exchange" but never a "Tool"...

The reason I feel we can't use Steem, Silver or Gold as a Standard, is because they Fluctuates in Value...

I suppose you could say that One Ounce of Gold is worth 31.1 Grams of Gold, but what good will that do us...???

The Gold Coin below is Valued at $11,000... It's Value is currently measured in Dollars and Cents, not in Gold or Silver...

We need a Stable Tool to Measure the Value of all things for Sale or Trade...

U.S. Coinage fits the need for a Stable Medium of Exchange...

I'm sure some of the things I type are taught in College, but is it possible I have something new to say...???

Perhaps some of you have Degrees in Financial Matters...

The only thing I have going for me is a Wild Imagination...

Someone may comment or ask a question...

I have no idea where my replies and answers come from...

I'm typically shocked that I even come up with some of the answers I come up with...

They usually just pour out, as I type...

I have no clue what I'll be typing from one Minute to the Next...

Anyway, feel free to ask why our Coinage doesn't need to be made from Gold or Silver to "act" as a Tool, to Measure Value...

Try to Stump me with a Question that can't be Answered...

@pocketechange

Sort:  

At the beginning, I found, the Coinage Act of 1792 authorizes "Eagles — each to be of the value of ten dollars or units [i.e., of ten silver dollars], and to contain two hundred and forty-seven grains, and four eighths of a grain of pure … gold." Since the dollar contained 371.25 grains of silver, this brought into legal equivalence 3712.5 grains of silver and 247.5 grains of gold. The ratio was 1:15.

These values were adjusted through the years.

Because of the Fluctuation in the prices of Gold and Silver, people were buying them up like Crazy... The same thing started to happen with our Copper Pennies...

Very well done on the ratio! I am hoping one day (soon) we can return to a 1:15 ratio.

You have done a good job of getting the word out about your theory; many posts from different angles.

Thank you Tammy... I keep thinking I'll run out of new ways to get the word out... It really does surprise me that I'm able to go On, and On, and On and On... lol... I try to throw in a little humor from time to time...

The Federal Reserve says it uses quantitative easing as a TOOL to stimulate the economy.
The Federal Reserve says it uses interest rates as a TOOL to control the economy.
These are not tools. The Federal Reserve is manipulating our economy for their own benefit.
A shovel is a TOOL used to dig holes.
A drill is a power TOOL used to drill holes.
They use the word TOOL instead of saying that they are manipulating the sheeple.
They use the word TOOL to dumb-down their manipulation. It gives the illusion that they are working.
Thus, along the same lines, I don't think coinage is a TOOL to measure value.

Ok... When nothing else was available, I actually used Dimes every now and then, to tighten screws or similar items... But I see what you mean... I'm still sticking with my thought of Coinage being a Tool to measure Value... I have no respect for the Federal Reserve and their Owners... After the reset, how much would you say a Gold Coin is worth, if you don't measure it in Trade Dollars and Cents...??? A thousand cans of beans...???

Given your P.C. theory and my perspective on silver and gold....
One regular dime gets 0.10 of a Trade Dollar.
One silver dime gets me 1.20 of a Trade Dollar.
Ten silver dimes gets me 12 Trade Dollars.
One ounce of silver gets me 17 Trade Dollars.
One ounce of gold gets me 1400 Trade Dollars.
A house valued at $140,000 gets reset to $1400 Trade Dollars. . .
So, I expect to buy a house for an ounce of gold . . . after the reset :)
This is the minimum, actually I expect Silver to go to $25 Trade Dollars
and Gold to go to $2000 Trade Dollars . . . Cheers.

Yes, a regular Dime (after the reset) will be 1/10 of a Trade Dollar... A Silver Dime is 1/10 of a Trade Dollar, plus any Premium attached by Fair Market Value... Actually, 10 Silver Dimes will get you One Trade Dollar plus any Premium attached... An Ounce of Silver will Fluctuate in Value, but will probably get you One Trade Dollar, plus any Premium because of the Form or Shape it may be poured into... The Price of an Ounce of Gold will also Fluctuate, but it will probably go for around 50 Trade Dollars plus Art or Collector Premiums... It's true what you said about the House, but it too will Fluctuate in Value and be measured in Trade Dollars and Cents... An ounce of Gold at 50 Trade Dollars, won't pay off the house after the Reset because the house will be Valued at 1,400 Trade Dollars... You'd still owe 1,350 Trade Dollars... Now, if you sold the Gold "now" and picked up $1,400 in U.S. Coinage before the Reset, then there's a good chance you can buy that House if the Reset follows my P.C. Theory... Gold, Silver and Every Thing else, will continue to Fluctuate at Fair Market Value... If I'm correct, their Value will be measured by means of U.S. Trade Dollars and Cents, which shall remain Stable...

I can put myself within your P.C. Theory and speculate what may occur. It is interesting. To me, it is a 100 to 1 devaluation or deflation perspective with the elimination of Federal Reserve Notes.
I have theorized that a 100-fold hyperinflation would essentially result in the same sort of 'reset'. I created a post 8 months ago that indicated that I could pay off the house with one ounce of gold. (https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@goldkey/house-for-one-ounce-of-gold-gold-vs-silver-vs-dollar-price-and-hyperinflation).
In reality, I'm not an economist or historian, I'm just a "Math Guy". Mathematically, it doesn't matter whether it is deflationary or inflationary. The result is disruptive and a 'reset' would occur.
Federal Reserve Notes could be eliminated with Pocket Change(deflation) or a New $10,000 Bill(inflation) marked as a U.S. NOTE. Easy Peasy.

There's no Devaluation connected to my P.C. Theory... The Federal Reserve Notes "already" lost most of their Value... Because of the Federal Reserve Notes loss in Purchasing Power, I'd like to see our U.S. Coinage "Reset" in Purchasing Power, along with the Creation of a new U.S. Trade Dollar to "Eliminate" all Federal Reserve Notes, from around the World and here at Home... I'm also aware of other Theories about your Mortgage being Paid off with Hyper-Inflated Dollars... That's not going to happen... A person will have to Work "about" the same amount of Hours to pay off their House "after" the Reset as he or she did "before" the Reset... I really don't like the Hyper-Inflation Path at all... The Path I see, takes us to a Place of Prosperity and Renewed Freedom... My Wild Imagination is convinced, that the Executive Order has already been Written... I've been holding onto all my U.S. Pocket Change for quite a while now... I can't advise you to do the same for obvious reasons... By the way... I already commented on your post in the above link...

May the Present be with you always...

1st. You can clearly read the link is inside steemit and goes directly to my blog.

2nd. No worries mate I'll put the whole post right here you don't even have to click.

3rd. I'll keep this up until I meet the prick that scammed an Abused Childrens Charity this morning (mothersday) and I'll do everything I can including the original posting bot to make sure it doesn't happen to anyone else. This scamming thief deserves a prickly pear straight up the poop shoot.

//////////////BEGIN POST FROM THE LINK/////////////////////

This is a "service" provided by @therealwolf that constantly misrepresents it's earnings and payout figures and sometimes just straight up jacks the money. Guess it depends on his mood. My last post was a charity post with all earning going to Child Advocates and this asshole essentially just stole money from abused children so ya there's also that. Now here's this pics for proof incase you don't want to go searching through the blockchain to verify this for yourself.

20.00 SBD $48.66 9.93% $70.54 /life/@prometheusrisen/hugs-not-hits .... $70.54 vote value

Smartsteem has voted on the post and its only at $39.84 total

This isn't a one time deal either, the comment sections are filled with people asking where their money went to, some people pay for votes and then just flat out don't receive them. I guess in retrospect I should feel good this guy @therealwolf only fleeced me for a couple points on my money instead of just jacking it entirely like he did to this guy.

[-]dreamm (54) · 14 hours ago
WTF? why did i get a 0.00 upvote?

Sorry... I'm always suspicious when someone only leaves a link...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00