Estate $ale

in #steemsilvergold5 years ago (edited)

Well I managed to make it to my 1st ever Estate Sale!

downloadfile-2.jpg
Source

Yeah, you can bet I wasn't after the Furniture or Tchotchkes!! I was there for some silver. Funny thing is this, I wasn't to sure how Estate sales work. Like they are strict on the start time. So today it started at 8am, so I showed up at 7:30am to find that there was already 5 people waiting outside. Of course they all where much older than me and all of them where Males. So about 7:45 am the door opened and a lady stepped out and handed out post it notes with number writen on them. You had to wear the postage note.... I guess this was because it was a first come First serve sale. But anyways number 6 wasn't bad, by 7:55 there where 25 people in line. Of course I am scoping out all 24, thinking that they are here for the same reason I was....

9-oclock-retro-clock-in-the-garden-grass-field-with-sun-light-HN4G8R.jpg
Source

So the doors open and In I go, I walk all through the house and not one time did I see any "COINS" like what was mentioned on the ad. So I find the person that was in charge, once I found her I asked where the coins where at. She said " your the 1st one to ask about coins, they are locked up, I will bring them out.

Now is it just me or do y'all find it odd to that out of 25 people only 1 person was intrested in the COINS. So she makes it back with the coins, there where folders and folders of coins all dated 1970 and newer. At this point i was feeling like this was a waste of time. Then It got my eye, a small bag that was inside another bag. I said can I see the small bag?

Screenshot_20190802-130436_Gallery.jpg

Found em, I said how much you asking for the dimes, she said $4🤔 I said ok I'll take em. Handed her a 20 and she said, I dont have change yet, I said well what else you got? Then she pulled out this.

Screenshot_20190802-130448_Gallery.jpg

How much? She said "$3.00. I SAID what else cause you still owe me $13 dollars back. She said I have these but I do not know the Price of them

20190802_130547.jpg

So I quickly pulled up apmex and showed her a price.

Screenshot_20190802-135407_Samsung Internet.jpg

🤔

I said that price is retail, she then said how about $15 each, I said I'll take em all. So I grabed these 2 as well

Screenshot_20190802-130722_Gallery.jpg

Screenshot_20190802-130731_Gallery.jpg

Now did anyone catch what just happened? 1st off, someone who is in charge of an Estate sale should know what everything is worth and what to sale it for. But I showed her a Morgan Design by accident, when I keyed in Morgan on Apmex website that was the 1st thing thay pulled up. Luckly no one else was there for the SILVER!!!!

so for $115 USD (this includes tax as well) I managed to pull all of this out of circulation!

Screenshot_20190802-130804_Gallery.jpg

IT WAS A GOOD DAY FOR THE @raybrockman stack...

I think I will start going to more Estate sales 😉🤑😎.

Thanks for stopping by, have a awesome weekend.

@raybrockman

Sort:  

You Scored big time on the Mercury Dimes... It's like you Paid for One and got the other Twelve for Free... Just think about how much it will be worth "after" the U.S. Monetary Reset... lol... Actually, I've been telling People the Melt Value of Silver will be $350.00 if Measured in Federal Reserve Notes... $3.50 if measured in U.S. Coinage, in which-ever Form... Bullion Coinage, Crypto Coinage, Paper Coinage or Clad Coinage... What you just Bought, I consider U.S. Collector Coinage...
August 2, 2019... 12.8 Hollywood Time...

Thanks PC it was a good deal, no matter what theory you side with...

Thanks PC it was
A good deal, no matter what
Theory you side with...

                 - silver-hammer


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.


August 4, 2019... 7.9 Hollywood Time...

That's awesome! I've never been to an estate sale. Good thing you asked for the coins. I probably would have been too nervous to ask.

Posted using Partiko Android

Download the app, start going!!! Thanks Sdoll!

Woot, woot! What great finds! CONGRATS, @raybrockman! And what fun to finally find the silver. I am reminded that four of the most beautiful coins I have (ever) was from an estate sale! That was a couple of years ago. I must try to do it again.

It was a diffently a day maker!! Thanks saver888

I might have to start going to estate sales...

Those 1900 Morgan’s look very snazzy!
Sweet score 😎👍

We don't have these Estate Sales here in Brazil...
I would love to go to several of them.
Congrats on the loot!

You paid $115 for them, do you know what they are actually worth? I have no idea about key date US coinage, but some look in great condition and old coinage will always make you money.

Great pick ups buddy.

Well ..... not sure Mr. Welshie but the Morgans are probably $25 to $30 each.

Ugh estate sales! You came out likes champ but that nonsense is brutal. We had one on our street, like 50 cars at least showed up well before the start time. People were blocking our front gate, our driveways and parking on the flower beds. I was ready to crack some kneecaps. Finally decided to water the lawn with the sprinkler. Made several folks regret how far up on our property they had parked. I don’t know what they all show up to buy. Suspect most are looky-loos. Glad you got a plethora of well priced goodies! ☺️

I can see you out there breaking kneecaps.🤣🤣.. nice trick with the sprinkler. The goodies where nice!!!

Those are some great looking Morgans! Awesome score for sure.

Helluva score man! I visit estate sales on occasion, but I've either never found silver / coins OR the person in charge of the sale new they were valuable and actually had them OVERPRICED! So, from my experience you done good!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56