# 104 - The State Quarters - Part 13

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

Starting in 1999 the US Mint issued a 10 years program that honored each of the nation’s states in the order that they ratified the Constitution or were admitted into the Union. They chose the $.25 coin to be the vessel of the homage.

All the coins obverses show the same profile of George Washington and the reverses were usually chosen in popular contests in each state.

All the coins that I am presenting here are NGC PF70 Ultra Cameo with 90% silver purity and weight of 6.3g.

The first coin is a 2006 "North Dakota". It features two American bisons. The bisons are pictured in the North Dakota Badlands which are now a National Park.

DSC_0234.JPG

The second coin is the 2006 "South Dakota". It features Mount Rushmore. This national monument features four American presidents. A Chinese ring necked pheasant flies above.

The third is the 2007 "Montana". It features a bison skull. This is a sacred symbol for many of Montana’s Indian tribes. The background features some Montana landscape.

DSC_0236.JPG

This series will continue very soon.

I hope you have enjoyed this article.

Thank you for reading. Please comment, upvote, resteem and advise me.

Sort:  

I like both the North Dakota and the Montana state quarters. Did you forget to upload the photo of South Dakota? Perhaps something is wrong on my end, no picture showing up. A beautiful collection, my friend! Did you start your collection when they first came out?

South Dakota is in the same photo as Montana. I started collecting them as circulated coins, at the time they came out, but it was easier to buy them graded on Ebay. I am showing only the silver ones, but I have the whole collection of the clad Proof ones in PF70.

I'm about ready to start my collection of this series. It'll take me awhile to get one of all of the designs but that's the end goal. I just have a couple of other (constitutional silver) purchases to get done before I start, one of which I'm doing today. I didn't even realize until very recently that the US mint had made 90% versions of these...

Do you intend to collect the silver or the clad series? The silver series comes only in Proof, like those above, but the clad series comes in Proof and in Brilliant Uncirculated (these are the ones that you can find in your pockets).

Looks good @ronaldoavelio! Are these coins in circulation or did you have to buy the 90% ones? I have recently seen a new state quarter series floating around in my change.

These coins are silver coins and did not circulate. Thay are exactly equal to the clad coins that are circulating. I think that the new state quarter series that you saw is the America the Beautiful series, that shows the National Parks.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Ronaldo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95