SBS Special Toning on some Poured Fine Silver... Ahh, love my days off :D

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago (edited)

I’ve been pouring some silver. I made a surfboard, it came out pretty cool. People liked it.... some people REALLY liked it. But invariably we learn from our first attempt and usually the second attempt is BETTER. I’m not posting the old surfboard here, it can be found... either here or on YT or possibly IG. In any case... here’s #2
D2ED0AED-BB4C-4373-8645-AF991FA621CE.png

Here’s a vid. How’d I do that two tone design? Shiiiiiit.... was it black magic? Mad skills? The answer is yes.

Oh, I made a hammer... #4 with some defects. I’d mentioned that I wanted to tone it so that the defects would become highlights... War hammer with entrails:
F3E8D717-C861-4469-BCA4-17DA10441D69.png

That doggie I posted yesterday with the finish that I didn’t like... I repolished, retumbled (briefly), and toned.
Meh... I like it a little better.
C85B8144-13D0-4677-9FEC-17496908E25B.jpeg

Thanks for Steeming It!

Sbs ChanBar2.gif

Please Comment, Follow, UpVote, & ReSteem

IMG_2438.jpg

SSG3.jpeg

ssg toon.jpeg

Sort:  

You are right. The new dog is much better, but the top is the two toned surfboard. Amazing!

Thanks Rondaldo... When I started finishing the dog I was sleepy... it was right after a long day at work. Maybe I rushed... then fell asleep while it was tumbling. Gotta not rush I guess. I appreciate you my friend :D

I like the hammer. The details and the toning are very beautiful.

Thanks... several people have bought hammers and nobody expressed interest in the entrails hammer, lol... Now it's all finished and I'll just hang onto it for now. Same with the surfboard, I'll lose interest, but for now I'm hanging onto that too :D

Those are some pretty wicked silver skills you got there. Good job man. Really fancy looking.

Thanks... it's all about the right tools and patience. I find it therapeutic... but hey, plenty of my pieces turn out crap and get remelted :P That can be frustrating, hehe

Oh yeah. I mean you don't lose any silver but you do lose time. I think they turn out great, at least the pieces you showed us. I wanted to get some silver shot and melt it down to make my own coins and stuff. Mostly because a few years ago, we had a Renaissance fair that would let you buy silver and copper to trade to the vendors then either keep the metal or trade it back for cash on your way out.

That sounds really fun.

Heeyy I like the hammer piece, looks very beautiful!. Nice works!

Yes two toned surfboard is better than the earlier one.

She speaks the truth! Honor this woman... for she is wise ;-)

Beautiful wrk done, very talented ✌️👍

Are the fins on the surfboard part of the main piece or did you have to add those? Really cool pieces @sbsparts. The puppy looks good blackened too!

No, didn't have to add them. Just have to life the nose of the board out of the mold first so that they come out on a curve. The secret for the toning is just some.... masking tape and an exacto knife ;-)

Nice. I have yet to pour into anything but a graphite mold. Someday I hope to pour into castings. Thanks for the tip on the toning @sbsparts!

Very nice work sbs 🤩👍👍 Damn!

Really nice pieces! I love that you can craft these yourself.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Whats the wildest design you've done?

I guess... a rubiks cube ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99