My first 10oz Engelhard Bar

in #steemsilvergold6 years ago

I finally picked up my first 10oz Engelhard bar. While I have picked up a few 1oz bars and other nice vintage rounds I had yet to get any Engelhard in weight. I have been following @silveringots, and they have been posting some epic rare and vintage ingots. They have also been really helpful to me when I have been trying to identify some other less common ingots my LCS has had as I start my journey into this aspect of stacking.

This week has been bad for my stackitus, after an order to both JM and Provident I had no business even going to my LCS.... not sure how I actually go there. I blacked out when going out for a bite to eat and woke up parked in front of my LCS. In I walked with the cash I had just taken from the ATM for my vacation in a couple weeks.... and there sat 5 - 10oz Engelhard bars. I got excited and asked to see all of them hoping for one of the more elusive varieties. After seeing they were all from the same series, I grabbed this near perfect bar - still not knowing just what I scored.

engelhard.png

He was asking ~1.50 over spot / ounce, the same price as all there other generic silver. After paying the man, I bolted making sure to hit up the bank once again to get more fiat for my trip.

After talking to @silveringots, and reading up on http://allengelhard.com/10oz-draft/ I know it's not a huge rarity. Next time I will make sure to look for the P or WC series and know the C or D series is common. I am still stoked, it is still my first vintage silver 10oz bar, and my first Engelhard bar bigger than 1oz.

While this week should set me back a for a few weeks/months, I plan on stopping by a honey hole of a LCS I know that has had rare vintage silver ingots and rounds all for generic prices in a few weeks. I have found some Hoffman & Hoffman rounds and some Golden Analytical bars in past trips and I am fully prepared to blow all my renaming dry power (or more) if he has the goods, even flipping some if necessary.

Fight the good fight, and take your medicine, Stackiuts can affect us all!

Stack on!

Sort:  

Great pick up @senstless!! Appreciate the kinds words. Something to look out for when you have a choice between several of the same bar's is obviously condition. BUT also a unique serial number. Example: 77777 or prefix/suffix letters. A new discovery on serial number could x10 the value of something like that. On allengelhard they show a WC prefix on that same 10oz which sold for big bucks!!! Enjoy your new addiction brother😅🤘

Thanks! It certainly is an interesting path, I like the variety and treasure hunt of it!

Yes nailed it on the head 👍

giphy (48).gif
You just got splashed by @rewards-pool. For more information on delegating to the @rewards-pool click the following link.
https://steemit.com/steemsilvergold/@rewards-pool/introduction-to-rewards-pool
@rewards-pool where a small delegation can get you a big splash.

Man that is refreshing!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93